We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with my family for 3 days at the end of June. If you held a gun to my head I couldn't fault this hotel. From check inn to room to room service nothing less than 10 out of 10.

One aspect that stands out above all the other truly excellent aspects is the restaurants and the service associated with them. On more than one occasion the Manager Danny Govender stood out as the driving force behind this. A big well done.

OBH you have a truly satisfied customer in me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank ypu so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    149
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
458
814
51
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

What an awesome weekend in a fantastic setting. From the time we arrived we were treated like "special guests". We arrivedid morning and our room want ready, but the front desk was extrey efficient in trying to ensure that we could check in and unpack. Wonderful views in a great location. Will be back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTreagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
It gave me great pleasure to read you enjoyed so many aspects of this beautiful Hotel.
We take great pride in The service we provide.

Thank you for choosing us over so many Hotels in the area.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our family have been going to the Oyster Box Hotel three or four times a year for the past 3 years and have always had the best experiences there. This hotel is a place where you go to relax, chill and have a carefree time for a while. So content and happy are we when we vista the OBH, we seldom find the need to leave the property for days at a time. There are wonderful places to relax and the kids have lots of freedom to cruise around without us having to worry if they are in any danger. we truly feel like we are at our home-away-from-home when we are there (just a better view of the sea than our house).
The staff are very friendly and have always been extremely courteous and welcoming. Special mention must be made of Wayne Coetzer the hotel manager. He really must be commended for running such a "tight ship" and being a real gent. When we lost a member of our family earlier this year and needed to get away from the realities for a while, we turned to the OBH as a place to go and recover. Wayne went beyond the call of duty to make sure that every possible detail was taken care for us and we are incredibly grateful to Wayne and the staff for making our stay so perfect.
The food is always good too and the waiters and waitresses are all very friendly and always remember our names and preferences.
We will always be loyal and regular guests of this hotel because they know what it takes to create an environment of comfort and luxury and feeling special. We love this place!

Room Tip: Sea facing deluxe suites with own pool is always a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reveiew.
It is so wonderful welcome you back each year, and I am delighted you have found so many aspects of the hotel fantastic.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us time and time again, we really appreciate it.

I personally look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We attended a family wedding here (the same one reviewed a couple of reviews back) and the service and the old world ambience was excellent, prompt and attentive surface.

The rooms were great (we had a sea view) and well serviced, and the breakfast had a wide range of choices and was excellent quality. Wifi in room was free and worked well and quickly.

Courtesy of the happy bride and groom, we even got a peek into the Presidential Suite, which looked amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding and so many aspects of the Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After safari in the bush of Phinda, we stayed a few days in this magnificent place! Friendly, warm and welcoming staff, wonderful atmosphere, great breakfast buffet and beautiful surroundings! This place is highly recommendable - and we can't wait to come back. The Norwegians.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansa_er_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking he time to post a comment.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and this Hotel.
We take great pride in our product and the training of our wonderful staff, I am delighted you
experienced some of the magic!

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My Husband and I and our 6 month old baby, spent 3 nights at the Oyster Box over the long weekend in August.
What an absolute treat!
The rooms were gorgeous, the service was out of this world and the hotel really was so accomodating with all our needs!
We had the ultimate break and I truly cannot recommend this hotel enough!
My husband and I will definitly be returning and perhaps celebrate our anniversary there again next year!

Room Tip: Imperative to have a sea facing room, the sound of the waves is truly revitalising
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel.

Please if you wish to enjoy your anniversary here next year, do let me know and I will ensure you receive some extra special treatment.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our daughter Simone had her wedding ceremony and reception @ The Oyster Box Hotel on 4th August. Everything was absolutely perfect.Wayne Coetzer (GM) , Ginny Eslick (wedding consultant par excellence) amd team are to be commended for delivering exceptional service. Family members from both sides of the family stayed @ the OBH found their stay elegant and memorable.
Many thanks for this beautiful day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margarita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Mrs Fuller

It was a privilege to host your Daughters wedding. I am delighted every thing went according to plan, and that you were happy will all the arrangements.

Thank you for choosing us for this special day! We look forward to do the Christenings and birthdays next!

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing