We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our family have been going to the Oyster Box Hotel three or four times a year for the past 3 years and have always had the best experiences there. This hotel is a place where you go to relax, chill and have a carefree time for a while. So content and happy are we when we vista the OBH, we seldom find the need to leave the property for days at a time. There are wonderful places to relax and the kids have lots of freedom to cruise around without us having to worry if they are in any danger. we truly feel like we are at our home-away-from-home when we are there (just a better view of the sea than our house).
The staff are very friendly and have always been extremely courteous and welcoming. Special mention must be made of Wayne Coetzer the hotel manager. He really must be commended for running such a "tight ship" and being a real gent. When we lost a member of our family earlier this year and needed to get away from the realities for a while, we turned to the OBH as a place to go and recover. Wayne went beyond the call of duty to make sure that every possible detail was taken care for us and we are incredibly grateful to Wayne and the staff for making our stay so perfect.
The food is always good too and the waiters and waitresses are all very friendly and always remember our names and preferences.
We will always be loyal and regular guests of this hotel because they know what it takes to create an environment of comfort and luxury and feeling special. We love this place!

Room Tip: Sea facing deluxe suites with own pool is always a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reveiew.
It is so wonderful welcome you back each year, and I am delighted you have found so many aspects of the hotel fantastic.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us time and time again, we really appreciate it.

I personally look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,663 - 1,669 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We attended a family wedding here (the same one reviewed a couple of reviews back) and the service and the old world ambience was excellent, prompt and attentive surface.

The rooms were great (we had a sea view) and well serviced, and the breakfast had a wide range of choices and was excellent quality. Wifi in room was free and worked well and quickly.

Courtesy of the happy bride and groom, we even got a peek into the Presidential Suite, which looked amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding and so many aspects of the Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After safari in the bush of Phinda, we stayed a few days in this magnificent place! Friendly, warm and welcoming staff, wonderful atmosphere, great breakfast buffet and beautiful surroundings! This place is highly recommendable - and we can't wait to come back. The Norwegians.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansa_er_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking he time to post a comment.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and this Hotel.
We take great pride in our product and the training of our wonderful staff, I am delighted you
experienced some of the magic!

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My Husband and I and our 6 month old baby, spent 3 nights at the Oyster Box over the long weekend in August.
What an absolute treat!
The rooms were gorgeous, the service was out of this world and the hotel really was so accomodating with all our needs!
We had the ultimate break and I truly cannot recommend this hotel enough!
My husband and I will definitly be returning and perhaps celebrate our anniversary there again next year!

Room Tip: Imperative to have a sea facing room, the sound of the waves is truly revitalising
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel.

Please if you wish to enjoy your anniversary here next year, do let me know and I will ensure you receive some extra special treatment.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our daughter Simone had her wedding ceremony and reception @ The Oyster Box Hotel on 4th August. Everything was absolutely perfect.Wayne Coetzer (GM) , Ginny Eslick (wedding consultant par excellence) amd team are to be commended for delivering exceptional service. Family members from both sides of the family stayed @ the OBH found their stay elegant and memorable.
Many thanks for this beautiful day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margarita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Mrs Fuller

It was a privilege to host your Daughters wedding. I am delighted every thing went according to plan, and that you were happy will all the arrangements.

Thank you for choosing us for this special day! We look forward to do the Christenings and birthdays next!

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A five star hotel at its best. If, like me, you love the sea, then try the oyster box for a truly memorable experience. Service is very important to me and the staff at the oyster box did not disappoint at all - they are truly awesome!

Room Tip: The rooms are huge, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is situated a step away from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anusha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted you found the service fantastic and the staff friendly, these are the characteristics

that we believe define a truly five star experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We arrived on Wednesday to a wonderful welcome the hotel has an enviable position in Umhlanga and the facilities are superb but what you will notice from the minute you step foot in Oyster Box is a staff that enjoy their jobs and have a pride in the hotel. We have enjoyed wonderful food and will leave with great reluctance. Dining is all part of the experience the curry buffet is a must and great value. For that special evening The Grill Room elegant surroundings, super food and again the supreme professional service of our waiter Leslie who brought the evening to a top class event. This hotel knows excellence but more importantly it knows hospitality ! Congratulations

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank houtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review.

We really appreciate your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

I look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $340 - $1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing