We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fairytale wedding”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our daughter Simone had her wedding ceremony and reception @ The Oyster Box Hotel on 4th August. Everything was absolutely perfect.Wayne Coetzer (GM) , Ginny Eslick (wedding consultant par excellence) amd team are to be commended for delivering exceptional service. Family members from both sides of the family stayed @ the OBH found their stay elegant and memorable.
Many thanks for this beautiful day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margarita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Mrs Fuller

It was a privilege to host your Daughters wedding. I am delighted every thing went according to plan, and that you were happy will all the arrangements.

Thank you for choosing us for this special day! We look forward to do the Christenings and birthdays next!

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,725 - 1,731 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

A five star hotel at its best. If, like me, you love the sea, then try the oyster box for a truly memorable experience. Service is very important to me and the staff at the oyster box did not disappoint at all - they are truly awesome!

Room Tip: The rooms are huge, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is situated a step away from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anusha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted you found the service fantastic and the staff friendly, these are the characteristics

that we believe define a truly five star experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We arrived on Wednesday to a wonderful welcome the hotel has an enviable position in Umhlanga and the facilities are superb but what you will notice from the minute you step foot in Oyster Box is a staff that enjoy their jobs and have a pride in the hotel. We have enjoyed wonderful food and will leave with great reluctance. Dining is all part of the experience the curry buffet is a must and great value. For that special evening The Grill Room elegant surroundings, super food and again the supreme professional service of our waiter Leslie who brought the evening to a top class event. This hotel knows excellence but more importantly it knows hospitality ! Congratulations

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank houtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review.

We really appreciate your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

I look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Breath taking , from the moment you walk in , to the time you step out , the views the service the Mo'jito's - amazing place to stay . The hotel has like a british palace theme . The finishings are amazing ! Defiantly a five star hotel . The high tea is to die for ! I would defiantly recommend this place for your next stay !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyanka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel, especially the Mojitos and the High Tea.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and joining you for a Mojito.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Words cant do this hotel justice, superb service and stunning room with a relacing view of the ocean.The spa services were well priced and the breakfasts were simply delicious Cant wait to go back and spend another week at this well decorated hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZLB1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for your honest feedback.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to inform all the staff of your wonderful comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wow - we decided to treat ourselves to a weekend at this PHENOMENAL Hotel.
This hotel tops every hotel we have ever stayed in around the world.
One wants for nothing at this hotel- everything is available and laid on without a stuffy and formal ambiance.
From the fine details everywhere through to the staff who will not let you lift a hand for anything , this is ultimate luxury.
With the feel of a boutique hotel and the service offerings of a large property hotel you really do feel special and pampered.
Our sea facing room was well appointed with clever little luxuries. The turn down service and cleanliness was wonderful.
We had a little hiccup at check in , but not 5 minutes after we were shown into our room , did we have the guest relations manager at our door apologizing for what we thought was such a small inconvenience.
The position was magical, the high tea was charming, the private cinema( which hosted just the 2 of us) was decadent and the Spa offered informative, unique and indulgent treatments- i had the mom to be massage and my therapist was brilliant and so professional.
For 2 full days we just lay by the pool like lizards soaking up the sun and between the ice creams, pizzas and delicious flavoured water, presented so beautifully, we just relaxed and felt like celebrities.
We noticed that this hotel is very family orientated and very disabled friendly with ramps everywhere and enough room for prams and wheelchairs.
This "treat" will definitely be going into our calender for next year and after our rave reviews to family, i'm sure we will return with a bigger party.
If we could rate this property higher than Excellent,we certainly would.

Room Tip: Naturally when by the sea , a sea facing room is preferable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsRogaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I really appreciate you comments and am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We went to the Oyster Box Hotel for lunch on the terrace. The moment you arrive you know this is somewhere special. The interior is breathtakingly luxurious and glamorous. All the staff we interacted with came across and professional and courteous. Our lunch was highly enjoyable and worth every cent. This has to be the best hotel in KZN and one of the best in the whole country.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hardybrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of this beautiful hotel, and that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and ensuring you receive extra special treatment.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $343 - $1,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing