We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circus Circus Cafe

Circus Circus Cafe
Ranked #18 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Circus Circus Cafe - Seasonal + Local + Fresh. The way food should be... Branches in Gateway, Musgrave, Beach Cafe & Galleria.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Refreshing Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Tried this restaurant in the Gateway Mall. I liked the veggie burger but it lacked structure so quickly fell apart. The taste was good though. We also enjoyed the veggie mezze platter with a nice assortment of treats. We found it to be a refreshing meal and enjoyed the “outside” seating in the mall. A great alternative to typical food court fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    74
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning lunch time venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We popped in because we had enjoyed our lunch a few months ago. The fish cakes were delightful then and after ordering Thai Chicken salad and the table next door had fish cakes delivered I had buyers remorse. When the salad arrived all the remorse evaporated. Hottish, spicy and tasty as ever,
This establishment offers great value and we will be back.
The waiter was outstanding, attentive but not in our faces.
Great!

Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had breakfast here the day we arrived in Umhlanga. The place was clean, nicely decorated and the staff were friendly and attentive. What I liked most about the place was that I felt important and like I was part of the furniture (at home in other words). The food was quite good although you can't really go wrong with breakfast! If I go back to Gateway I will definitely be giving it another visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thato B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is my favourite restaurant of all time. The food is exceptional, great taste and good portion sizes (neither too small or too large).

A key feature is very comfortable chairs so you can sit for hours enjoying their excellent coffee or a glass of wine (or three).

The only problem I have is every time I change menu selection I am stuck there for several visits as each dish is so good its difficult to choose something else. Turns out over time its all good!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I'm not vegetarian, but I absolutely LOVE the vegetable burger at Circus Circus Gateway. Large portion and filled with chick peas, lentils, butternut and sweetcorn...yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus Circus Cafe also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Circus Circus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing