We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy bunny chow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De'Ma. Restaurant

De'Ma. Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 128 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: De`Ma is a medium size restaurant and a bar specializing in authentic and high quality Indian cuisine, beverages, deserts, and sweetmeats. De`Ma is situated in the Gateway Theatre of Shopping in Umhlanga. The mouth watering appetizers, bujiyas, samoosas, paneer and AT LAST, - curries, breyanis, naans and tandoor dishes will enthrall you. Not only does De`Ma caters for the discerning palate of our walk-in clients but is also a full service catering company and suppliers of event souvenirs. De`Ma caters for weddings, conferences and parties. De`ma also has a take-out and delivery service. About your business presentations and workshops De`Ma offers 3 plasma screens, basic equipment, comfortable tables and chairs all in an exclusive rendezvous. PRODUCTS De`mas culinary signature lies in the use of herbs and spices that nourishes mind, body and soul. It also has health promoting properties of various herbs, ginger and spices. Its dishes are well seasoned and aromatic. Overall the dishes are skillfully prepared with the chef having a mastery over the properties of spices and blending process.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy bunny chow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

First time I tried bunny chow. Loved it! The lamb one...am told that's the authentic one....in half a loaf of unsliced bread, the bread is scooped out of the center. And filled with lamb curry. The curry soaks into the bread loaf and you scoop it up while breaking off pieces of bread. Yumm!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meghna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha G, Manager at De'Ma. Restaurant, responded to this review, May 4, 2015
We are so glad that you loved our bunnies.
great news!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    28
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Came here a year ago and had an incredible curry, I was really looking forward to the opportunity to visit again, this time round the curry was flavourless, restaurant a little dirty.. This place has gone from a must visit in Umhlanga, to never again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha G, Owner at De'Ma. Restaurant, responded to this review, May 4, 2015
we @ De'Ma really apologise that your 2nd visit was a far throw from the 1st.
if you ever do come back please ask for me. the names Del. I would love to convey my apologies in person and personally take care of you.
sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very good curries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly, the shop is clean and the meal I had was delicious. Will definitely be back for more keep it up.

Helpful?
Thank Food1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great variety and flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Don't be fooled by this small restaurant, it is bursting with delicious options for both vegetarians and non vegetarians. On a hot summer's day their virgin mojito was one of the best We have ever had! My husband (a meat-eater) really enjoyed the vegetarian tandoori platter I ordered, he said it was even nicer than the butter chicken he had ordered. The prices are on the high side, but De'Ma is a good place to try if you in the mall and craving Indian food:)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadira_bhamjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The food was good, its in a quaint little corner near the Exit so its easy access and the waitress was helpful and pleasant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjackie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De'Ma. Restaurant also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to De'Ma. Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing