We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“10 out of 10”
other travelers have booked this property
Swimming pool area looking towards the main house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool area looking towards the main house
Front gate looking from the roadway Front of house showing parking/driveway area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Swimming pool area looking towards the main house
Front gate looking from the roadway
Front of house showing parking/driveway area.
House entrance area.
Outside patio looking onto upper garden tier.
Oustide dining patio looking down onto pool area
Living room looking towards open plan kitchen
Living area looking toward hous entrance, dining room and kitchen
View from open plan kitchen showing main living room and outside patio's
Dining room with staircase to sleeping area on right
View from main entrance looking at the main living area
A modern fully equipt kitchen/laundry
Oustide main patio
Outside main patio
View from garden towards main patio
Main bedroom
Main bedroom bathroom (full)
Green Room
Blue Room
Blue Room
Bathroom 2
Brown Room
Brown room showing private bathroom
Outside entrance to Red Room
Red Room
Red room showing private bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarthur20...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What you see advertised is what you get....and so much more!!
The house is beautifully decorated and it felt so much more than a holiday home.
It is in a safe, convenient area to shopping and the beach, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
We felt so comfortable and there was nothing that Karyn wouldn't do for us.
We were very sad leaving the house and my family, when we had to leave for the UK.....end of a wonderful holiday.
Precious was superb and took great care of the house.

Cant wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: felt like home away from home
Liked least: holiday too short
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2014
Hi David,

Thank you for such a wonderful review and we really enjoyed meeting you and your family. After all of our planning together for your trip to South Africa am so pleased that it was everything that you were expecting it to be and that you all enjoyed the house.

We really look forward to hearing from you again in the future when planning your next trip to South Africa.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henning A
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a positive experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this villa half a gear ago based on information and pictures on the website. Normally you expect the photos on the website to make the place look better than in real life. This was certainly not the case here. We were positively positively surprised about everything - the house in general, the cleanliness, the space, the pool, the friedliness of the owners and the sweetness and efficiency of the maid. What a wonderful experience. This may sound as being too good to be true. It isn't. And we HAVE been around in the world.

Very recommendable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2014
Hi Henning,

Thank you for your wonderful review and was so lovely to have you and your family staying with us. So pleased that you enjoyed 25 on Oyster and hope to see you all again in the future.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Umhlanga...ROCKS”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our third trip to South Africa and again we weren't disappointed! A lot of this was down to our stay in this house. Both the location and the house were perfect, but it was Precious who made it so unique, so much we wanted to take her home! Always felt safe and secure, comfy beds and sofa's, plenty of places to sit and have dinner at home. Umhlanga was amazing and the house matched it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Precious!
Liked least: Wi-if cutting out.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2013
Hi Jonathan,

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased that you and your family had a wonderful stay in 25 on Oyster in Umhlanga. Hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyssell
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week after Easter with my wife and two kids. This is a fantastic house which is really well situated between the airport and Durban. Only a 5 min drive into Umplanga with the beach restaurants and shops. The house feels secure, is spacious for a large group and has great attention to detail in the way that it is finished off. Great house for young kids with nice flow through areas to the garden and safe in terms of a good fence keeping them safe from the pool. For the adults there is a great outside entertainment areas with the covered patios and braai/barbeque facilities. Big thanks to Precious who looked after us whilst we were there. Wish I could keep this place a secret but that would not be fair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the review and was lovely meeting you and your family and am so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay in our 25 on Oyster.
Hope to hear from you in the future when you come back to South Africa.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg Sweden
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and so pleased you had such a lovely time in our home.
Regards
Karyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2013
Thanking you for your favourable review and thrilled that you enjoyed our house so very much, look forward to welcoming you and your family back someday soon.
Your feedback regarding the cups, spoons and duvets is so very much appretiated and helps us greatly in maintaining our very high standard. You will be pleased to know that brand new tea set has been added to our kitchen inventory and plans are in place to cycle between sets of summer and winter duvets.

Kind regards, Karyn & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing