We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
elements cafe bar
Ranked #30 of 136 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Elements Cafe Bar, situated on the pool terrace of Beverly hills hotel is a chic and relaxed café style restaurant with an eclectic mix of aluminium, chandeliers, comfy couches and stylish ghost chairs. Large sliding doors open to panoramic views of the Indian Ocean. The restaurant is known for its fresh pasta, salads and seafood and is a superb place to meet friends for a glass of champagne or cocktail .
Reviewed August 5, 2014

love the champaighn and great wine selection. deliciouse pinot noir, and delectable mezze,oh...great thin base pizza,

Thank Smita1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Executive Chef at elements cafe bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and our beautiful setting.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Tony Kocke
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

As the name suggests this is a cafe bar with a limited menu.The setting on a warm summer day is amazing, but on a cold winter evening, there are no views, the lights are too bright and the restaurant is cold. With very few customers, there was no atmosphere, the food is average and not worth the 5 star prices.
However, if you avoid the South African winter months, this could be the place for a snacky meal and cocktails.

Ivan g

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ivan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Executive Chef at elements cafe bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your recent stay. Your comments are most constructive and I will ensure attention is given to your suggestions.

Kind regards
Tony Kocke

Executive chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting in a beautifully decorated restaurant with stunning views. The food was superb. Took a while but well worth the wait. Try the aubergine carpaccio, fish cakes with baby caprese salad and seafood pasta. Absolutely delicious.

Thank Lucinda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Executive Chef at elements cafe bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and our beautiful setting. We have noted your comments regarding service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Tony Kocke
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We decided to go to the Beverley for breakfast although we were staying elsewhere as we were looking for something with a view, and at least this was provided. The cost was about $20 each, about 3x what you would pay for a breakfast in one of the nearby coffee shops. This was expected though, so we went ahead.
After having some cold-starters (somewhat limited for the price) I then dished some hot breakfast and noticed there were no eggs. Again, this is fairly common in high end spots as one would like fresh eggs cooked to order, so assuming this was the case, I asked the waiter to organise some scrambled eggs for me, at which point I got some nervous, shifty, mumbling response and he said he could not bring them! Only after I got back to the table and ate my eggless breakfast, I was then presented with an 'egg menu', with four or five 'fancy egg' options..... for an additional R50!!!
While I appreciated the view, there are many other places to get that, but to pay R400 for breakfast for two and then get someone trying to upsell it to R500 if you want some eggs is beyond ludicrous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, executive Chef at elements cafe bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Constructive criticism is most welcome as it helps us strive to be the best. I have noted your comments and would like to contact you personally to discuss with you and rectify the situation. May I trouble you to email your contact details to beverlyhills50@tsogosun.com

Kind regards
Tony Kocke
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Best setting, best cocktails, best food and fabulous décor|.
I have been so many times, and even had my 40th here! love love love!

Thank kimmyroberts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Executive Chef at elements cafe bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted you enjoyed your meal , our beautiful setting and of course our cocktails

We look forward to welcoming you back to elements for many more celebrations.

Kind regards
Tony Kocke
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed elements cafe bar also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to elements cafe bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing