We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always - EXCELLENT stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went back to Umhlanga Sands Hotel this year and had yet another excellent stay! The entertainment staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and kept the little ones busy all day long, while mom and dad are enjoying bingo and a cocktail at the pool. The rooms, the views, the staff, the atmosphere, the location all score 100%..

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and book at the Umhlanga Sands Hotel and you will be hooked for life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 780 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

The view, the accommodation, the leisure at the adult pool facing the mighty ocean was therapy to both Llew and I. The staff are absolutely delightful; they recognise us as annual visitors and really make us feel at home! In fact, the Sands IS home from home! Thanks for making our stay memorable. Sincerely, Llewellyn and Jennifer Lewis

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Llewellyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a pleasurable stay at the Sands. Everything was superb. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Kids did not use the resorts facilities much, as they spent every moment at the beach.

Reception staff really assisted me with scanning some important work documents. No issues at all.

We had left a bag in the room after we checked out and called the hotel the next day. The bag was found and kept at the security office and everything was intact.

What a great trip. I look forward to going there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

When booked was advised that we had a corner unit 820. On arrival was given 817 and told that rooms are not a guarentee. We have a small baby and the room we had had an interleading door to neighbours that complained about the noise the baby made. Reception called us a further 3 times during our stay- whilst I appreciate the concern- the tone implied that we potentially were neglecting or abusing our child. We specifically asked for a room that would be of the least amount of disturbance to other guests but hotels failure to honour room confirmation meant we had to apologies to guests. This is supposed to be a family resort and we felt that it did not live up to its promise- we will not be returning and will ensure that we tell everyone of the poor manner in which the hotel managed the situation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Taryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have stayed at this resort every year just about over the last 10 years. We have once again experienced the perfect family beach holiday. In house food was great and Umhlanga Village with excellent cafes, take outs, restaurants and grocers within an easy walk. The staff are friendly and helpful and the amenities sparkle. Housekeeping is personal and take pride in ensuring a comfortable stay. All this soothed by the sound of crashing waves. Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank JoAnn508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Have enjoyed holidays at this delightful venue for over 30 years. It NEVER FAILS TO IMPRESS;
Reception and Staff are among THE BEST in The Business
Has been regularly re-furbished, thus ALL ROOMS ARE VERY COMFORTABLE, with TV, Microwave, and Refrigerator etc;
All rooms have not only a complete SEA VIEW, but you can enjoy the sound of the waves breaking on the SAFE BEACH;
A separate modern GAMES room for the young and young at heart;
A SUPER SWIMMING POOL for all, particularly the children, with a STRICTLY ADULTS ONLY POOL on an upper deck, all serviced by the franchised caterer;
Entertainment daily for all ages;
You can shop-until-you-drop at the nearby GATEWAY SHOPPING MALL;
A short drive to either DURBAN or the New International Airport;
Great Golf Courses, and Casino's, and a Fantastic range if places to dine out;
The hotel also has Excellent Restaurants that also provide Room Service.
A REALY EXCELLENT PLACE TO HAVE THAT SPECIAL HOLIDAY

Room Tip: Level 1 has a larger private balcony, but may pick up noise from the pool. Separate lift up to leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The fantastic ocean view, friendly staff, eateries (Spur etc), spotlessly clean rooms and excellent facilities made our stay at the Umhlanga Sands Resort this Easter one we will never forget! Lovedit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
189.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
423 reviews
190.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,910 reviews
190.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
189.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
378 reviews
189.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Address: 44 Lagoon Drive | Myezo Park, Umhlanga Rocks 5099, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $30 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing