We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Holiday ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Holiday ”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I try to come down every year, and this resorts never disappoint. The rooms are clean and the views are spectacular. Nothing beats the sound of crashing waives to wake you up in the morning. Unless you really feel the need to shop there is really no need to ever get into your car as excellent restaurants and 3x grocery shops are within a 5 min walk. There are a number of activities for young kids at this resort, but there's also a separate adult pool where you can work on your tan in peace and quiet. Three negatives for me were 1) The bed in the main bedroom was terrible, I had to move to the second bedroom because it felt like I was sleeping in a hammock. 2) The way my room was cleaned felt like it was a haste job. Then lastly 3) The 50MB free Wi-Fi speed was adequate but 50MB? I mean come on, you look @ Facebook once and it's done for the day. Having said all of that I am sad to go and cannot wait for my next trip.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank fantafunbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    203
    56
    17
    17
See reviews for
367
180
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Its a nice resort with a great view. I stayed there with a group of friends. Nice Indian Restaurants nearby. A great place to stay.We saw dolphins and distant whales from our room on the 7th floor. We drove from Johannesburg to Durban and could not locate the resort. We checked in pretty late at around 11:30 PM. The front desk was courteous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Resort Hotel with average eateries but what a view. We saw dolphins and distant whales from our sixth floor room almost every day. Our room was split into three areas. A master bedroom with a really comfortable bed, sofa, table and chairs and a flat screen TV; a small kitchen (sink, fridge freezer, microwave & kettle) with two single beds and an adequate bathroom with very good shower, with storage area outside. We did not have a balcony, but with sliding doors felt like we had. The sun hits the hotel grounds only in the morning and all rooms face the sea. The pools are dip pools and not for serious swimming. The service, safety and cleanliness were all first class. There is a beach side promenade outside the hotel and it takes 10 minutes to walk into town. There are countless bars and restaurants in town to suit all pockets & tastes. There is a supermarket and several other shops. Gateway Mall is five minutes away in a car. It is massive and includes cinema screens and a theatre. The promenade actually extends for 2.7Km and allows for either jogging or gentle walking off but above the beach. There are no gym facilities but a hair/beauty salon and a small shop. There is a laundry room too (10 Rand wash, 10 Rand spin-dry). Wi Fi had to be bought and used in reception. There was entertainment every night but we did not attend. South African people who we spoke to who come year after year like it a lot. We travelled from the UK and really enjoyed it and seriously thought about buying a week here… Because there is plenty to do in the surrounding area (but avoid Durban itself!). Only the price of flights and time from UK put us off.

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony's, 620 does not. All rooms face the sea, the waves can be very loud and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

For one of the older Hotels in the area, it's still very modern, recently revamped, and A/C unit worked. The staff was absolutely helpful, friendly and professional. We stayed on one of the higher floors, thus we could overlook the beach, restaurants and family pool areas right out of bed.... important if you are trying to gauge if the weather is pleasant ;) Closely situated to Gateway Mall for those rainy days and ample restaurants on the ground floor of the hotel, with a fully stocked arcade for kids as well as heated pool. Plenty of activities to keep the entire family entertained. Only thing it lacks is a proper fitness center and gym. Units are compact but nicely furnished with massive King size beds, no oven, thus helping you to support the restaurants on the premises.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms seem bigger with actual balcony, higher rooms have better views and also more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landu-Zandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My Family visits the Sands almost every year for a little getaway. It is always busy, but the staff always manage to cope. They have a fantastic kiddies program which they run in the holiday season, it can keep the kids entertained all day and into the night. There is also a cocktail bar and sundeck for adults who need to get away, or couples who want some quiet time, sports games or nightly shows in the bar are also great. There is an arcade for kids and a few choice restaurants. security in the busy season is a little over the top, but I guess for the right reasons. The recent refurbishment saved the hotel from looking a little tired, rooms are now very bright, and make you feel like you’re on holiday. My family keeps coming back.

Room Tip: be carefull of rooms on the higher floors, there are only 3 lifts and can take time to come to you i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TE_D_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I visited for three days over a long weekend. We have no children so I will first review it as a family resort and then from an adult only point of view.

FAMILY: All rooms have sleeping place for 4, semi-self-catering with microwave, sink , kettle and basic crockery available. Not full self-catering. In foyer the Spur and coffee shop are all super kid friendly with joy park arcade room and sweets from heaven shop as an added bonus. Both kid friendly pool and adult friendly pools. Liked the separation of the two pool areas for those guest opting for some quietness. In general super child friendly hotel with numerous activities on site and close by for children.

ADULT: Room was stunning with view over the ocean was breath-taking. Room was spacious with all basic amenities, not too outdated as a previous reviewer mentioned. The bed was firm and super comfy. Satellite TV with over 20 channels, full variety of options for every taste. Close proximately to the ocean and running routes, very safe with security guards at every exit. No safety concerns as the area itself is very safe too. Only thing was the room was not 100% clean, smudges on windows and on some surfaces. Linen and towels were however 100% clean.

Overall the location was excellent, close to many bars, restaurants, major shopping malls and the beach. Good service from hotel staff and friendly, attentive, helpful staff. We even got majorly discounted Ushaka marine world card tickets, R100 normally R185. It is definitely a 4-star location and hotel in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is not my first visit to Umhlanga Sands, but there have been some improvements since last time, and we had another great week there with the kids. It's been refurbished, so our rooms looked much better than before, and there has also been a slight improvement in the restaurants' service - still a way to go, though, and they are independent of the main resort. Obviously, from statements from other reviewers they lag way behind.

I know the false lawn around the main pool is not the same, but with all the people "traffic" it's impossible to keep it healthy. The upper adults-only pool is lovely, quiet, and has a real lawn - with even better views of the ocean below.

What makes the trip worthwhile, (over and above the location, the beach, and the views,) is the staff. We found that the main Reception team were very helpful and responsive, as were the people responsible for chairs and brolleys at the pool. But the best staff are the entertainers who keep both kids and adults busy. Viv is just such a star, and he genuinely works hard to create a sense of enthusiasm and warmth. He remembers every kid - and there are at least 30 of them - and most adults by name. He walks around and chats every day, and makes announcements that are funny and encourage participation. He is, for me, the "face" of the hotel. (Curiously, every year the management team walk around and greet guests. Didn't happen this year.)

My only problem is the really seedy gambling/gaming room that many kids spend time in. I'm not sure it's a concession, but I really resent that it trains kids to enjoy gambling, and wasting a ton of money for some really cheap and meaningless prizes. The only thing I can truly say spoilt the magic of my holiday was the daily fight with my 9-year old son about this, and I caught him on more than one occasion watching other kids playing in this room, soaking up this awful electronic atmosphere. Another parent actually even gave my boy money to play, and this created tension. I have no problem with games - we own Wii's and Nintendo's and other games at home, but this particular venue trains our children to become gamblers in later life. As an owner, I am going to fight this issue tooth and nail at the annual meeting.

Nevertheless, we had a great holiday, and it was always worthwhile.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but on those in the south side there is less noise from kids activities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Property: uMhlanga Sands Resort
Address: 44 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing