We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thabang & Tumane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed from 12th to 19th November 2011. It was a very, very fantastic experience, if you need to relax, Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Resort (Umhlanga Rocks) is a place to be. Very nice, helpful staff members (always greeting with a smile), keep up the good work guys. We really enjoyed ourselves and hopefully we will visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: The higher you go the more the fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaphikeMokoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 795 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at the hotel from 14 November - 19 November and had a great time! The rooms are nice and clean and the swimming pool is fantastic. Our 2 year old enjoyed the entertainment and it gave us some time to relax!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

You need a rest. ? Book into Umhlanga Sands. Choose the rooms . Level 14 and above, for majestic. 180 degree panorama views of the coastline. Small kitchenette with microwave.fridge and kettle. Time to spoil your better half , for meals etc. Relax. Enjoy. Very well run and organized. School holidays. Full of children. Which do not disturb., because of the design.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umtatadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at the resort from 30 July to 1st August with the kids.We all fell in love with the resort the moment we set foot .Reception staff was great and in few minutes, we were given keys to our room. Kids were entertained throughout our stay and the resort itself is magnificent with great ocean views from the rooms.You are spoilt for choice with resturants in the complex and few minutes walk, you get shops and resturant.The sadest moment was when we left and definately, we gonna go back

Room Tip: Choose a 2 bedroom as it is spacious and kids dont have to watch tv in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Willy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Resort 20 - 27 August and loved every minute of our stay. We were a family of 4 and really enjoyed our stay, the view from each room is stunning and the rooms are clean with modern furniture. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are a lot of good restaurants near the resort within walking distance and there is entertainment for the family if you wish to take part.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Two weeks at Umhlanga when the weather in Johannesburg was really cold and grotty was just what we needed. The resort was almost full, and the staff great. Kids are kept busy from 10 a.m. until sunset, and the people who run the entertainment also take care of the adults.

Two restaurants in the complex, but we'd recommend the Mastrantonios. The other is mass produced and quality is poor: half a used toothpick in the salad, and had to purchase the toy for my son because we chose a paif-for milk shake instead of a cola for the drink.

Overall, great value for money - especially for parents who want to be not-too-stressed. Walking distance to many other restaurants and shops, and a short drive to beautiful and big mall in case it rains.

Room Tip: Fridge and microwave mean that you can do some cooking, and views from the balcony are just divine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

the resort is great for teenagers and families.the only drawback is that the apartment has a kitchenette and not a full kitchen.the resort will be totally refurbished and will be closed from 15 jan 2012 to april 2012

Room Tip: get a 6 sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haroun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
189.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
190.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
190.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
189.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
189.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Address: 44 Lagoon Drive | Myezo Park, Umhlanga Rocks 5099, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $30 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing