We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great for the kids, and mom and dad can have some time off too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just great for the kids, and mom and dad can have some time off too”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Two weeks at Umhlanga when the weather in Johannesburg was really cold and grotty was just what we needed. The resort was almost full, and the staff great. Kids are kept busy from 10 a.m. until sunset, and the people who run the entertainment also take care of the adults.

Two restaurants in the complex, but we'd recommend the Mastrantonios. The other is mass produced and quality is poor: half a used toothpick in the salad, and had to purchase the toy for my son because we chose a paif-for milk shake instead of a cola for the drink.

Overall, great value for money - especially for parents who want to be not-too-stressed. Walking distance to many other restaurants and shops, and a short drive to beautiful and big mall in case it rains.

Room Tip: Fridge and microwave mean that you can do some cooking, and views from the balcony are just divine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    209
    58
    18
    17
See reviews for
381
188
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

the resort is great for teenagers and families.the only drawback is that the apartment has a kitchenette and not a full kitchen.the resort will be totally refurbished and will be closed from 15 jan 2012 to april 2012

Room Tip: get a 6 sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haroun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My wife and I spent a week at the sands from the 16th April till the 23rd. It was an awesome break, just what we needed. we celebrated our first anniversary on the 17th and couldnt have chosen a better local destination.

Check in was smooth and didnt take too long. Our room on the 11th floor offered breathtaking views of the beach with the most amazing sunrises and reflections of moonlight. The room itself was clean, neat and comfortable, offering everything you need for a relaxed stay. There was one afternoon when the hot water ran out, but one call down to maintenance and we were assured that it would be sorted out ASAP. not too long after that a staff member came up to our room to check if we had hot water.

The one criticism we would have is that the service at the M&A restaurant was very slow, we waited for about half an hour for a waitress to take our order and a further 45mins for our food to come on both occasions that we ate there. The waitress we had was not very friendly either. We feel that this was an unnecessary waste of our valuable beach time. As a result of this, we avoided eating there, although the food was good.

We felt very safe during our stay. There is an electronic safe in the room. We could take long walks on the beach without having to worry.

All in all, we would highly recommend Umhlanga Sands to anyone looking for the best of both worlds, beach during the day and entertainment at night due to it's close proximity to Gateway shopping mall (5 minute drive). We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are seafacing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Ziyaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed there for a weekend with kids. This hotel has an entertainment programme throughout the year for kids. The entertainment staff are very friendly and helpful, they make your kids feel very welcome from the time of check in. My kids just loved it. The hotel has a Sweets from Heaven and Joyland. The rooms are very clean bright and comfortable. Will definetly return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

i have visited this hotel over on 10 seperate occasions. the fisrt was as an 8 yr old with my parents and the last as a father of a young child. having visited many destinations around the world, this remains my favorite holiday destination. the rooms are well designed and offer a spectacular view of the Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suhail1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agra
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for four nights on a family vacation in Oct 2010. The hotel is located in the upmarket area of Durban and on the sea beach with very good sea view. The hotel has good spacious rooms, kids play area, two seperate swimming pools - one for family and other for adults. our room had a big spacious balcony to relax and enjoy the sea view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank findnsecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I visited the Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Resort in last week September, 2010 which is located in the Umhlanga Rocks Area which is about 20 minutes from the Durban City Centre in South Africa. I exchanged one of my RCI Weeks for a week at this resort and I was very impressed by what I saw. It is to be noted that this is a Gold Crown Resort and it definitely lives up to its expectation.

Let me state up front that this is a resort for couples with kids as most of the entertainment and activities at this resort have kids as the main target group. If you are a honeymooning couple or are in for a romantic getaway then avoid this resort and go for the Cabana Beach Resort which is located next door which will be more suited to your taste. You may find the Umhlanga Sands Southern Sun Lifestyle Resort a bit too noisy with too much stuff happening all around.

The Umhlanga Sands Southern Sun Lifestyle Resort is situated 20 minutes from the King Shaka International Airport and 15 minutes from the Durban City Centre. It is located exactly at the mid point of the Airport and the City Centre in the Umhlanga Rocks Area. The Umhlanga Rocks area is the best place to stay when you are in Durban and the most economical as well as compared to the hotels on the Golden Mile Sea Coast in Durban which are definitely not worth the amount which they charge. A taxi from the airport to the Umhlanga Sands Southern Sun Lifestyle Resort will cost you ZAR 200 one way and the resort can arrange for a pick up (you can alternatively book from one of the cab companies of which Umhlanga Cabs in the most efficient, offers the best rates and is the most preferred).

The check in is from Saturday to Saturday and the check-in process can be very time consuming as everyone checks in at the same time and you may have to wait a wile which may spoil the first impression you get of the resort, but do not let that bother you. I would rate the resort rooms as absolutely awesome due to the following reasons.

For the complete hotel review and for useful travel tips for other hotels and attractions do visit my blogsite [--]

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AskPranav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
190.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,757 reviews
190.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,025 reviews
190.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
189.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
189.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
189.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Property: uMhlanga Sands Resort
Address: 44 Lagoon Drive | Myezo Park, Umhlanga Rocks 5099, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing