We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view ever!”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best view ever!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel has absolutely stunning views. With floor to ceiling windows facing the sea with a balcony for every room to enjoy a nice sit out. Or fall asleep listening to the waves crashing on the rocks. Recommend it just for this!! It is located on the pretty beach which had controlled access and security. Usually I skip breakfast to sleep in, but here had breakfast on the deck everyday ;) eggs Benedict was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay ,our beautiful facilities and of course our eggs benedict!
It is our privilege to serve you and to be part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations.
We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    186
    48
    27
    13
See reviews for
235
432
32
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel certainly makes a good first impression. The sea view is spectacular; the pool is huge and inviting; check in is smooth; the rooms are large and well equipped. The pastries and fruits at breakfast were fresh and tasty. But the experience didn't get better as the stay progressed.

The breakfast hot buffet disappeared when the hotel was less full. The phone link to wake up calls "has never worked," according to an apologetic employee. The sign in the bathroom saying that to save precious water, towels re-hung would not be washed was systematically ignored by the housekeeping staff, even after two reminders. And the pool level room, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the sea turned out to be impractical, since the curtains had to be fully closed to provide any privacy from the security patrol. The air conditioning blew directly on the bed, and to turn on the shower, the door had to be opened in a way that sprayed water into the bathroom.

None of these flaws is horrible or a deal-breaker, but with staff standing everywhere, perpetually asking if everything is fine, it is discouraging when so many small details turn out not to be fine and there are no obvious solutions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have found your comments very constructive and taken them to heart. You have my assurance action will be taken , and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent two night and three days at the Beverly Hills Hotel. The hotel trades on its location and view of the ocean. It has an excellent pool and a lovely dining room with a wraparound terrace. Each room has a balcony and sliding doors that actually open which is a rare treat these days. I could fall asleep listening to the wave’s crash the rocks below. Breakfast was extensive with both hot and cold buffet. But the hotel is the poor cousin to the Oyster Box next door in terms of décor and available amenities.

My room was a reasonable size with a renovated bathroom. Beds were of good quality as was the electronics. I didn’t eat at the hotel other than a quick club sandwich one afternoon which was okay. I ate mostly next door at the Oyster Box and enjoyed the bar – both of which are 1st class. I also ate at a fantastic French restaurant across the street from the Beverly Hills named lls Maurice – which I also recommend.

The hotel does not have a spa – which is a bit shocking given its 5 star status. Here again, I went next door to the Oyster Box. Overall, the hotel needs a major overhaul of its common areas and lobby. It has too much of an 80’s feel to it and the lounge is getting dated. You just get the feeling that they being left behind.

I paid about 8,000 rand inclusive of taxes, room charges and a few bits to eat and drink. I’m not sure it reflected fair value – once you start getting into 4,000 rand per night you expect more then what is delivered. The hotel is great for kids and I would differently come back with kids over the summer months.

All in all – a fine stay in a 4 start hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms high up have nice views - but rooms at the bottom have a larger outdoor deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Constructive comments are most valued and I have noted your observations. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in not too distant future

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beverly Hills in Umhlanga! It has to be the best setting in the area with beautiful sea views and sounds of waves lulling you to sleep. Felt like we were on permanent holiday and were totally spoilt by the General Manager, John de Canha and his team. The genuine warmth and hospitality was felt by all the Directors of MLC who were holding their exco meetings there and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are nicely appointed, the food delicious and the staff always happy to go the extra mile. Lying at the pool soaking up the sun was a treat! The village shops and restaurants so close by were fun to explore. While the hotel is one of the original gems in Durban, the care from the team from the top down and the incredible setting made this an exceptional stay. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The views are amazing - go as high as you can! Spa Royale in Gateway is fabulous and good value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful facilities.
It is our privilege to serve you and to be part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations.
We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with such friendly staff and amazing service.
Situated right on the beach, where the water is warm. The beautiful pool is also warm all year round.
We visited in winter but the temperature was never lower than 25 degrees.
Shops and restaurants all a very easy walking distance

Room Tip: The rooms are quite small but all with a view over the ocean and a balcony to sit and enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful facilities.
It is our privilege to serve you and to be part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations.
We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very professionally run five star hotel ,management hands on visible at most times staff friendly and helpful
Premises well maintained and clean
Location very central
Beautiful sea views from room
Comfortable firm king beds and good size flat screen TV in rooms
Generous stocked coffee tea and biscuit offering

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Seymour T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful facilities.
It is our privilege to serve you and to be part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations.
We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I booked my wife and I for our honeymoon night on 4 May at the Beverly Hills Umhlanga. It was disastrous from the word go. Firstly, when I made the reservation weeks before the honeymoon night, I clearly stated that it was our honeymoon yet when we got there, our room did not even have any champagne or any romantic turndown. Only after arriving, did the lady on duty try her best to arrange some wine and strawberries. The following morning, we decided to order room service. We are both vegetarians so we ordered the vegetarian breakfast, however just as I was about to devour the sausage, I realised it was actually pork. We called management and they came to the room to remove the food and it was not replaced. My wife then tried to call the manager of the hotel but he was too busy to return our calls. My wife then emailed the hotel while honeymooning in the Maldives but received no feedback. She sent through her contact number but to this date 31 May we have not been compensated for the poor experience.

Mr & Mrs Naidoo

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey_The_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was truly concerned about your unhappy experience and have taken measures to contact you personally to remedy the situation.

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing