We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch experience”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

A beautiful hotel situated on the beach, our room was excellent with wonderful sea views. The staff were friendly and super helpful. The facilities are quality, clean, well maintained and beautifully presented. The breakfast was good as well. Only good things to say about my weekend here.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing but try the higher floors for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnyGro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.
It is our privilege to part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations and we hope to see you back very soon

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is the best hotel for a seaside weekend away particularly when you want to go away from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg. The rooms and the views are to die for. I didn't miss Johannesburg at all.



  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Neo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are delighted you enjoyed your escape from Johannesburg and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

After winning first place prize in a golf competition we were lucky enough to escape to the Beverly Hills (or better known as 'Heavenly Bills'). Getting there was easy - Lanseria, Kalula, airport shuttle (door to door 2 hours).
The hotel was wonderful - staff very friendly, including Claude the concierge who was happy to help with anything including booking our restaurant booking at Ile Maurice across the road.
The hotel room was very spacious and had everything we needed. Very clean, good spacious safe and most popular the nespresso machine. The sea facing room on the 7th floor had a spectacular 180 degree view of the ocean front.
We loved the terrace, didn't spend much time in the pool because it was a bit cold, and were rather amused at the vervet monkeys charging into the main dining room at breakfast as they couldn't resist the beautiful fresh fruit on offer.
Friendly staff and good food.

We had a wonderful weekend at the hospitality of the BH staff, and thank them for this experience. We would certainly come back given the chance. Thank you Tsogo Sun for sponsoring this prize and making this experience happen.

Room Tip: Sea facing room was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_van_der_Merwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.
It is our privilege to part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations and we hope to see you back very soon

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

A true 5-star hotel! Luxury, refinement and elegance. The grand old lady of Umhlanga still rules. Attention to detail is, perhaps, the most defining element of this excellent hotel...not that the food is to scoff at.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.
It is our privilege to part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations and we hope to see you back very soon

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The room and staff were lovely.

We spent our first night as a married couple at the hotel and the staff were amazing went out of their way to accommodate for our needs and decorate the room with rose petals, champagne and strawberries. Absolute bliss!

Breakfast was lovely and I love that all rooms are sea facing

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Camish52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review .
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be part of your milestone memories in the future
warm regards
John De Canha
General Mamager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

For business trip reasons I have been at this hotel twice and both experiences have been just great. I arrange meetings & incentives all over the world and never met a hotel General Manager as Mr John de Canha: he has a lot of experience, perfectly knows how to support clients for making an event successfull, he has an eye on details, always available and smiling.
The hotel has an amaizing view on the sea, rooms are comfortable and service great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are glad you agree that our location is simply stunning and we hope to see you back very soon .

Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

the room was sea facing and had a well cleaned balcony overlooking the indian ocean with a beautiful view,the food & beverage was a best in terms of service and my palate was absorbed into taste fillet...


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Maxwell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.
It is our privilege to part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations and we hope to see you back very soon

Kind regards John de Canha General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $283 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing