We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our stay at The Beverly Hills has been a truly amazing experience. From friendly and professional staff to fantastic service this hotel has everything you could ask for. I find it quite difficult to believe that this hotel could get bad reports, my only assumption is that some people can be full of nonsense.

Even though the rooms are slightly small you do not feel camped at all.

We will definitely be back this December.

Thank you to John and all the staff.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank sparky1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our privilege to play host to you and we pride ourselves in intuitive professional service. We are glad you have left with happy memories and look forward to your return next ' season.' Kind regards, John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

978 - 984 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

a magnificent well-located hotel with exquisite sea views - Bev hills relieson old fashioned excellent service, courteous, obliging staff addn a manager who is innovative,caring and accomodating beyond words. The food is outstanding, kids facilities at year end fantastic with a kiddie daily programme, kiddie buffet and movies/popcorn nightly, as well as excellent restaurants for adults. A wonderful relaxing stay that is a total treat for the whole family !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Lorian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It was our privilege to play host to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

1. Car keys locked in idling car by porter.
2. Poor in room dining.
3. No bill provided for signing when on pool level or room dining.
4. Room I stayed in was 2* and was not clean.
5. Horrible shower - chooses hot or cold water on its own.
6. Not value for money - I am feeling ripped off, strongly considering cancelling Frequent Guest Membership.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Nishendran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to learn of your stay and would like to contact you personally to put any wrongs -right. I would like to show you that the hotel is truly worthy of her wonderful reputation. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

At my recent stay back home , I revisited the Sugar Club, of the Beverly Hills and was pleased to see it hasn't lost its touch and charme ! I love the romantic feel and the views of the ocean are stunning ! As a starter I had the vegetarian tart , which was really lovely with a perfect pastry crust !The service was very accomodating and after mentioning that I am a vegetarian the chef made me a lovely vegetable pasta dish with sun dried tomoto pesta and roasted pine nuts.The selection of desserts is large and sinful, and I shall be back to tuck into one or two of them soon !!
The staff was really friendly and efficient and the Sugar Club offers a great selection of wines , local and international !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookbeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to enjoyed your meal. The Sugar Club has dramatic views of the Indian Ocean and our new menu is receiving rave reviews . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sugar Club in the not too distant future to try out our sumptuous desserts. Kind regards Tony Kocke Executive chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I travel extensively and have been to some of the best hotels in te world including a couple of the "Hotels of the World" hotels and The Beverly Hills Hotel rate as one of the best.

John, (the GM) Frank and Rox are some of the friendliest and accommodating hotel staff members I have come across and really make you feel at home and welcome.

The service at this hotel is top notch and I would recommend this hotel for anyone from a family trip to business.

We've stayed there twice and I'm looking to build fond memories with my children in the years to come .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tiaan118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay .It is our privilege to play host to you and we pride ourselves in intuitive professional service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha,General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We regularly visit the Beverly Hills Hotel for breakfast and usually have a wonderful time.

Yesterday this was not the case! It started off with us being told that there was no parking available for us at the hotel, yet we could see parking spaces available. We asked security where we must park and he just looked blankly at us and said it was a problem. Things got heated with security who eventually called a manager who said that we could park in the hotel parking but said "you can't stay all day". I find the way this was all handled most disgusting!! (and when we left, a few hours later, there were still plenty of parking spaces available)

We finally get to our table and notice that they have had a major staffing change... only one of the regular waiters was there so the personal touch that we were used to was gone. We had an extremely inattentive and clearly inexperienced waiter who kept forgetting to bring us things we ordered and made us wait for things for so long! The service was absolutely non-existent!

For the prices you are expected to pay the service should be excellent and all customers should be treated like gold!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to learn of your experience and will make contact with you personally, and would like to invite you back to the hotel to prove we are worthy of our fine reputation. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

You expect to receive a good service for the price that you pay but the staff are so unfriendly they have no people skills whatsoever. The lifts don't work. Everything moves at a slow pace. The rooms are unclean and untidy. It's certainly not a five star hotel. The GM John is very unaccomodating and makes racist remarks. There are far better hotels in Umhlanga for half the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Logs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to learn of your experience at the hotel as our team is built on intuitive professional service. I would like to contact you personally and invite to our property to show you that the hotel is truly worthy of her good reputation. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umh...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $315 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing