We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch fiasco”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Vereeniging, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch fiasco”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

staff at the lounge were slow to get our drinks order. the service was bad with the head chef to get the drinks orders out after asking 4 times. nobody on the floor was checking the main food table to see when the food got finished. the bill was wrong and had to be fixed. after going to the hotel for a long time the service sunday on overall was the worst we've ever had.

Helpful?
Thank CHRISTEL237
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed to learn of your experience. I would like to contact you directly to invite you back to prove to you that this hotel is worthy of her wonderful reputation. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    186
    48
    27
    13
See reviews for
235
432
32
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Beverly Hills Hotel in the vacation village of Umhlanga Rocks just north of Durban, South Africa is a real gem. This 5-star establishment has a long history of style and service. When you walk into the front lobby, the warmth of the smiles and attentive service is something you do not experience often. The GM John is always on hand and his friendly, professional manner is a personal touch you rarely experience. All rooms are sea facing and the pool deck is an absolute oasis where you can relax in the warm South African sunshine. Situated close to some if the best shopping in Africa and fine dining establishments, The Beverly Hills rates as one of the best in the country.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the pool level. They are separate from the main building and the views of the Indian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilsonGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest -We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Sunshine Paradise ! We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Beverly Hills Hotel is very nice hotel situated in Umhlanga Rocks in Durban.The Staff is nice and very welcoming,they are always ready to help in case you need something.The Hotel offers great facilities gym,pool,meeting area...The pool area is very nice, you can relax grab a chair and the staff will offer you something to eat and drink,they will even clean your glasses! The food is awesome,especially for breakfast,the main dishes for breakfast are cooked in the kitchen(eggs,sausage,meat...)and you can choose a from a variety of side dishes like fresh fruit,all sorts of bread and cheeses,cold cuts,sauces,cereals...The breakfast service also offers various drinks like freshly made juices,and hot drinks coffee,tea,hot chocolate.The food quality is amazing.
The rooms are nice and offer a great view of the Indian ocean,the beds are comfortable and the bathroom has a tub and hot shower.The rooms are very clean.
The hotels location is perfect you can wake up and take a long walk along the beach,swim in the ocean,go visit the stores around the area and if you want to catch a movie you can go to Gateway mall which is situated 10 mins (by car) away from the hotel. When you come back to the Hotel you feel very welcomed and at ease.At night you can order room service (BTW -->the Beverly Hills Burger is awesome,and so is the lamb curry) or walk in to one of the restaurants near by to have a nice meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husseinharji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Your 'burger' awaits! Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
262 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed 3 glorious days in our poolside room. The luxurious room furishings in ice-blue provided a cool contract to the warm pool deck. From the moment we stepped into the hotel until we left the staff were friendly and helpful, but also unobtrusive. The breakfasts are superb with lovely ocean views. I deal for a business or holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room ..... quiet, private, hear the sea and enjoy the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards John de Canha , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a classic hotel. Old fashioned service with the GM - there to welcome you and genuine about it. Nice lobby and restaurant. Great sea view rooms. Lovely pool and dining area. Great service in all areas. GM also arranged a transfer for the girls to go shopping. Nice touch. Room nice, bathroom good. Older but clean and shower over bath.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for writing a review. It gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the views from every angle. Absolutely the very best SA can deliver. The attentive staff and guest relations also to be commended. The atmosphere in the shared areas is very classy and the the ambience excellent.

The rooms are rather small and in need of a decor revamp to suit today's tastes whilst maintaining the heritage feel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the incredibly friendly welcome to the complementary wine and massive snack platter in our room to the great service we loved this hotel.

The setting is amazing and the hotel is beautifully designed to maximize your views. Umhlanga is filled with lovely shops and restaurants and plenty to do during the day or night.

One of the best hotels in Durban without a doubt. Really worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review. We agree with you, our views are beautiful and every room has an uninterupted views of the Indian ocean! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing