We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel on the beach in a great location close to excellent restaurants and shops”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a classic hotel. Old fashioned service with the GM - there to welcome you and genuine about it. Nice lobby and restaurant. Great sea view rooms. Lovely pool and dining area. Great service in all areas. GM also arranged a transfer for the girls to go shopping. Nice touch. Room nice, bathroom good. Older but clean and shower over bath.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for writing a review. It gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the views from every angle. Absolutely the very best SA can deliver. The attentive staff and guest relations also to be commended. The atmosphere in the shared areas is very classy and the the ambience excellent.

The rooms are rather small and in need of a decor revamp to suit today's tastes whilst maintaining the heritage feel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the incredibly friendly welcome to the complementary wine and massive snack platter in our room to the great service we loved this hotel.

The setting is amazing and the hotel is beautifully designed to maximize your views. Umhlanga is filled with lovely shops and restaurants and plenty to do during the day or night.

One of the best hotels in Durban without a doubt. Really worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review. We agree with you, our views are beautiful and every room has an uninterupted views of the Indian ocean! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful location, directly on the beach. The rooms are not huge but it has everything you need including a coffee machine.

The thing that makes this hotel very special is the attention to detail and the little things that the staff do to make your stay memorable. We were sitting next to the swimming pool and the staff brought out ice creams. My daughter cut her foot and the staff went out of there way to make her feel better.

We booked with our Discovery Travel benefit which made the price of this hotel much more affordable. This hotel is very expensive if not booked with this benefit.

Breakfast was extensive and delicious!

Room Tip: The room at the end of the corridor had an additional sleeper couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards John de Canha , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location overlooking the Indian Ocean is great. Sunrises are amazing. Hotel restaurant is very average compared to the Oyster Box Hotel next door. Pool area is blessed with the natural beauty of being on the Indian Ocean. The hotel has no spa and that is a big minus for a five star hotel.Management is not attentive. Guest relations are manned by poorly knowledgeable suits who know very little about the area or about stand alone fine dinning restaurants. We had dinner at the Oyster Box hotel Grill Room next door and that was truly a fine dinning restaurant with great cuisine. Non guest relations staff is very friendly but not empowered to solve problems. Next time the choice will be the Oyster Box Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and check into the Oyster Box Hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabry_heakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Your comments are noted. We to offer all guests professional intuitive service, and to exceed expectations. I do hope you will contact me personally hen next visiting uMhlanga so that i may show you the hotel is truly worthy of her wonderful reputation. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a perfect position on the Umhlanga beachfront , the rooms are tiny , bathroom has no seperate shower and fittings are old. The bed linen feels cheap with no duvet / comforter only a sheet wrapped around a blanket . There are better alternatives available for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read your about your bedroom experience. we pride ourselves in our fittings and like to ensure each guest receives choice of pillows, and linen. I would very much like to speak to you in person and would be most grateful if you would contact me directly. Kind regards General Manager, John de Canha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely - elegant hotel, friendly staff & good service. We popped into the hotel for High Tea. Very reasonably priced, selection was average & not much for vegetarians in terms of the savoury selection. The sweet selection was delicious, macaroons were divine & view from the dining area was beautiful - pity it was a rainy day, non the less it was a great afternoon with family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_0683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed our tea -we think our macaroons are yummy too! We hope to see you back at the hotel on a sunny day to enjoy the view and the Vista terrace. kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
2,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road | uMhlanga , Kwa zulu-Natal , south Africa, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $335 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing