We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beverly Hills
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
$166
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
$93
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$115
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$178
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveler rating
938
222
58
32
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
222
58
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar clubnespresso machineattention to detailthe general managerstar hotelindian oceanpool areaexceptional serviceoverlooking the seabeautiful hoteltsogo sunout of this worldbeach frontsouth africafantastic stayhis teamtop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,076 - 1,081 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the incredibly friendly welcome to the complementary wine and massive snack platter in our room to the great service we loved this hotel.

The setting is amazing and the hotel is beautifully designed to maximize your views. Umhlanga is filled with lovely shops and restaurants and plenty to do during the day or night.

One of the best hotels in Durban without a doubt. Really worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review. We agree with you, our views are beautiful and every room has an uninterupted views of the Indian ocean! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful location, directly on the beach. The rooms are not huge but it has everything you need including a coffee machine.

The thing that makes this hotel very special is the attention to detail and the little things that the staff do to make your stay memorable. We were sitting next to the swimming pool and the staff brought out ice creams. My daughter cut her foot and the staff went out of there way to make her feel better.

We booked with our Discovery Travel benefit which made the price of this hotel much more affordable. This hotel is very expensive if not booked with this benefit.

Breakfast was extensive and delicious!

Room Tip: The room at the end of the corridor had an additional sleeper couch
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards John de Canha , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location overlooking the Indian Ocean is great. Sunrises are amazing. Hotel restaurant is very average compared to the Oyster Box Hotel next door. Pool area is blessed with the natural beauty of being on the Indian Ocean. The hotel has no spa and that is a big minus for a five star hotel.Management is not attentive. Guest relations are manned by poorly knowledgeable suits who know very little about the area or about stand alone fine dinning restaurants. We had dinner at the Oyster Box hotel Grill Room next door and that was truly a fine dinning restaurant with great cuisine. Non guest relations staff is very friendly but not empowered to solve problems. Next time the choice will be the Oyster Box Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and check into the Oyster Box Hotel next door
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabry_heakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Your comments are noted. We to offer all guests professional intuitive service, and to exceed expectations. I do hope you will contact me personally hen next visiting uMhlanga so that i may show you the hotel is truly worthy of her wonderful reputation. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a perfect position on the Umhlanga beachfront , the rooms are tiny , bathroom has no seperate shower and fittings are old. The bed linen feels cheap with no duvet / comforter only a sheet wrapped around a blanket . There are better alternatives available for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read your about your bedroom experience. we pride ourselves in our fittings and like to ensure each guest receives choice of pillows, and linen. I would very much like to speak to you in person and would be most grateful if you would contact me directly. Kind regards General Manager, John de Canha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely - elegant hotel, friendly staff & good service. We popped into the hotel for High Tea. Very reasonably priced, selection was average & not much for vegetarians in terms of the savoury selection. The sweet selection was delicious, macaroons were divine & view from the dining area was beautiful - pity it was a rainy day, non the less it was a great afternoon with family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_0683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed our tea -we think our macaroons are yummy too! We hope to see you back at the hotel on a sunny day to enjoy the view and the Vista terrace. kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews