We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW a special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“WOW a special experience”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful location, directly on the beach. The rooms are not huge but it has everything you need including a coffee machine.

The thing that makes this hotel very special is the attention to detail and the little things that the staff do to make your stay memorable. We were sitting next to the swimming pool and the staff brought out ice creams. My daughter cut her foot and the staff went out of there way to make her feel better.

We booked with our Discovery Travel benefit which made the price of this hotel much more affordable. This hotel is very expensive if not booked with this benefit.

Breakfast was extensive and delicious!

Room Tip: The room at the end of the corridor had an additional sleeper couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards John de Canha , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    180
    47
    27
    13
See reviews for
230
419
32
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location overlooking the Indian Ocean is great. Sunrises are amazing. Hotel restaurant is very average compared to the Oyster Box Hotel next door. Pool area is blessed with the natural beauty of being on the Indian Ocean. The hotel has no spa and that is a big minus for a five star hotel.Management is not attentive. Guest relations are manned by poorly knowledgeable suits who know very little about the area or about stand alone fine dinning restaurants. We had dinner at the Oyster Box hotel Grill Room next door and that was truly a fine dinning restaurant with great cuisine. Non guest relations staff is very friendly but not empowered to solve problems. Next time the choice will be the Oyster Box Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and check into the Oyster Box Hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabry_heakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Your comments are noted. We to offer all guests professional intuitive service, and to exceed expectations. I do hope you will contact me personally hen next visiting uMhlanga so that i may show you the hotel is truly worthy of her wonderful reputation. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a perfect position on the Umhlanga beachfront , the rooms are tiny , bathroom has no seperate shower and fittings are old. The bed linen feels cheap with no duvet / comforter only a sheet wrapped around a blanket . There are better alternatives available for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read your about your bedroom experience. we pride ourselves in our fittings and like to ensure each guest receives choice of pillows, and linen. I would very much like to speak to you in person and would be most grateful if you would contact me directly. Kind regards General Manager, John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely - elegant hotel, friendly staff & good service. We popped into the hotel for High Tea. Very reasonably priced, selection was average & not much for vegetarians in terms of the savoury selection. The sweet selection was delicious, macaroons were divine & view from the dining area was beautiful - pity it was a rainy day, non the less it was a great afternoon with family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_0683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our tea -we think our macaroons are yummy too! We hope to see you back at the hotel on a sunny day to enjoy the view and the Vista terrace. kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May on business and really appreciated the great service, from the moment you walk in you definitely feel that this is a hotel that cares for it's guests! The view was stunning over the beach, rock and lighthouse. Rooms are very comfortable, free wifi and coffee and tea making facilities in the room. Overall great experience and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back at the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards General Manager, John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The last time I spent some time at the Beverly Hills was about 17 yrs ago. I remember it being Sol Kerzners flagship in SA at the time. How lovely to still find understated elegance coupled with fine service at this beautiful Grande Dame .
Our early check in was speedy, efficient and very welcoming.
The king size bed room was a little tight but adequate.
Lovely to have nespresso coffee machine on hand...also good variety of teas and hot chocolate.
Loved the super comfy extra length bed, magnificent view from our little balcony and not to mention a complimentary stand of fresh and dried fruit, nuts and other yummy goodies.
No matter where you are in the hotel the view is spectacular.
Breakfast is excellent with good variety .
Poolside service is superb...with the offer of constantly moving umbrella as the sun moved. Lovely big jug of ice water, tasty light meals at very reasonable prices.
We enjoyed the more casual restaurant/bar on the pool level....got to have their Durban curry...delicious and beautifully served too.
It was our 33rd anniversary and the nights turn down included red rose petals..lovely Romantic touch.
...but what makes this a very special place, is the outstanding service. Nothing is too much trouble...the level of enthusiasm / friendliness /second mile type attitude, make for a superb stay.
One small complaint is the high tea....after waiting 45 mins, a very
dissapointing , mediocre (to say the least) tea arrived. Dry salmon sandwich , old scone ( perhaps from breakfast)....etc etc. Great apologies from a friendly/helpful waiter for the long wait. Come on Beverly Hills....u have to do something about that high tea.
Would I go back....most certainly...without a second thought. Having owned a travel agency myself for many years, I have enjoyed the hospitality of some of the finest hotels in the world....Beverly Hills has to be one of my favorites ....amazing location...and even more amazing service. Compliments to an excellent team for an unforgettable stay. Thank you Beverly Hills staff...you rank with the best in the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharrydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind regards John de Canna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

AWESOME is all I can say... from the location, the service, the people, the food, the drinks, the location... the managers... AMAZING place and PLEASE I hope they can keep up the great work! I will be back and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: every room is good with views to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alzira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope it's not too long before you return to our beautiful hotel. warm regards John de Canha , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing