We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beverly Hills
Nearby Hotels
$132
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$110
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$112
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
$367
$305
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,283)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveler rating
953
223
58
32
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
223
58
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar clubnespresso machineattention to detailthe general managerstar hotelindian oceanpool areaexceptional serviceoverlooking the seabeautiful hoteltsogo sunout of this worldbeach frontsouth africafantastic stayhis teamtop class
Filter
Updating list...
1,107 - 1,112 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beverly Hills iz the best.since the minute I got ther I felt lyk I was home,beautful pple,top services n awesome management I had quite a gud tym with my family,the rooms are so unique it made mi feel great its the place to be.the food is yummy served in a hot plate and its quicly delivered

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steenbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your wonderful review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. warm regards John de Canha ,General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel in Feb 2013 and stayed as a business traveller. I would have no hesitation in bringing my family to this hotel. It had some very nice business facilities and they cater for business functions well.

It has a very clean and large pool on the beach-front.

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are bed and breakfast style (more classy than modern).

The hotel has free WiFi which is a plus. The hotels bars are very nice for an evening nightcap and the lights on the ocean and the waterfront and very pretty.

It is right on the beach-front, so very easy to take a morning walk on the beach-front walking track. There is an ok wave to surf about 500 meters walk north of the hotel.

The area is very safe and you have no issues walking around at night plus there are a couple of great restaurants nearby. If you are coming from Australia you will be surprised how cheap food and wine is in Durban

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Durban was entry into South Africa during this visit and I couldnt have chosen a better hotel than Beverly Hils in Umhlanga. The view from the rooms overlooking the sea is breathtaking. Breakfast buffet is average but it is more than made up by the genuine hospitality of the staff at the front office and restaurants. Mr. John de Canha, the General Manager of the hotel is always at hand to welcome guests and see them off. This is a hotel I will come back again and again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John De Canha General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After some rather tumultuous and emotionally draining events in our lives recently, husband and I decided to treat outselves to a right royal evening and booked in, impromptu, to the Beverly Hills Hotel, Umhlanga Rocks. We took a normal room on about the 5th floor. It is a majestically beautiful place, beautiful decor, architecture, staff well trained and one of those places that transports one to a place of glitz, glamour and fame - well of course, we don't have any claim to that, but it didn't hurt to feel as if we were the most important guests in the hotel. We think everyone is treated in this way and felt most special - from having our car parked for us to being ushered upstairs with a real "bell-boy" and his fancy brass trolley with our 1 silly suitcase to our room. The rooms are not all that spacious but well appointed with Nespresso machine, good bathroom products, good lighting, excellent linen (which is of paramount importance), quiet aircon., and the most stunning view of the beach and coast one could possibly ask for. It was just the ticket and we felt like a million dollars! Dinner was a very lavish affair, being able to dress up and the food itself was sublime. Everything was served with great aplomb and dignity, which we loved. The dining room is wonderful with it 's beautiful old chandeliers and subdued lighting and damask table linen; the waiters speak in well modulated tones and must have had the best training in town. Our food was cooked to perfection so it was not surprising we ordered crepes suzette for dessert to see how well it would be done. Faultless!! So delicious we can still taste it. After dinner we mustered up all the energy we could find and took a walk on the beach and the "boulevard" and tumbled into bed feeling more or less human for a change and slept like babies. After a leisurely pampering in the wonderful bathroom and coffee on the verandah watching the sun come up and breathing the sea air, we ambled down to breakfast and had an absolute feast. Asides from an equally grand Four Seasons hotel we once visited and lived only for their breakfasts, the breakfast at Beverly Hills takes the cake! Stupendous array of freshly baked pastries (our favourite), fresh fruit galore and thereafter any and everything one could think of to eat for breakfast which clearly caters for many cultures and religions. We didn't want to leave this hotel so stayed as long as we could before checkout time was well and truly over, even then, we hung around the outside terrace and pool, and had a few coffees more before dragging our feet to our vehicle after checking out. We can honestly say it was worth it, perhaps 3 nights would have been better however that 1 night helped us feel hugely better just because it is one of those hotels where one can go and lose oneself in the splendour of yesteryear. Old fashioned manners, old fashioned service with professionalism par excellence. Well done, Beverly Hills Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the most you can afford, one up from a normal room/suite would be good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndlwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I checked into this hotel about 8 months ago. We had a friendly and warm reception from the staff, but the room was the biggest surprise!

We paid what we judge as a normal rate for a suite and it so happened that it was the presidential suite in the end, the room was very nice and the view was great, we got to look down over the oyster box and onto the sea.

Our stay was great and the pricing was even better!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the presidential suite!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaun_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to hotel again in the not too distant future .Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews