We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A near perfect experience”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Manipal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A near perfect experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Durban was entry into South Africa during this visit and I couldnt have chosen a better hotel than Beverly Hils in Umhlanga. The view from the rooms overlooking the sea is breathtaking. Breakfast buffet is average but it is more than made up by the genuine hospitality of the staff at the front office and restaurants. Mr. John de Canha, the General Manager of the hotel is always at hand to welcome guests and see them off. This is a hotel I will come back again and again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John De Canha General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    186
    48
    27
    13
See reviews for
235
432
32
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After some rather tumultuous and emotionally draining events in our lives recently, husband and I decided to treat outselves to a right royal evening and booked in, impromptu, to the Beverly Hills Hotel, Umhlanga Rocks. We took a normal room on about the 5th floor. It is a majestically beautiful place, beautiful decor, architecture, staff well trained and one of those places that transports one to a place of glitz, glamour and fame - well of course, we don't have any claim to that, but it didn't hurt to feel as if we were the most important guests in the hotel. We think everyone is treated in this way and felt most special - from having our car parked for us to being ushered upstairs with a real "bell-boy" and his fancy brass trolley with our 1 silly suitcase to our room. The rooms are not all that spacious but well appointed with Nespresso machine, good bathroom products, good lighting, excellent linen (which is of paramount importance), quiet aircon., and the most stunning view of the beach and coast one could possibly ask for. It was just the ticket and we felt like a million dollars! Dinner was a very lavish affair, being able to dress up and the food itself was sublime. Everything was served with great aplomb and dignity, which we loved. The dining room is wonderful with it 's beautiful old chandeliers and subdued lighting and damask table linen; the waiters speak in well modulated tones and must have had the best training in town. Our food was cooked to perfection so it was not surprising we ordered crepes suzette for dessert to see how well it would be done. Faultless!! So delicious we can still taste it. After dinner we mustered up all the energy we could find and took a walk on the beach and the "boulevard" and tumbled into bed feeling more or less human for a change and slept like babies. After a leisurely pampering in the wonderful bathroom and coffee on the verandah watching the sun come up and breathing the sea air, we ambled down to breakfast and had an absolute feast. Asides from an equally grand Four Seasons hotel we once visited and lived only for their breakfasts, the breakfast at Beverly Hills takes the cake! Stupendous array of freshly baked pastries (our favourite), fresh fruit galore and thereafter any and everything one could think of to eat for breakfast which clearly caters for many cultures and religions. We didn't want to leave this hotel so stayed as long as we could before checkout time was well and truly over, even then, we hung around the outside terrace and pool, and had a few coffees more before dragging our feet to our vehicle after checking out. We can honestly say it was worth it, perhaps 3 nights would have been better however that 1 night helped us feel hugely better just because it is one of those hotels where one can go and lose oneself in the splendour of yesteryear. Old fashioned manners, old fashioned service with professionalism par excellence. Well done, Beverly Hills Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the most you can afford, one up from a normal room/suite would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndlwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I checked into this hotel about 8 months ago. We had a friendly and warm reception from the staff, but the room was the biggest surprise!

We paid what we judge as a normal rate for a suite and it so happened that it was the presidential suite in the end, the room was very nice and the view was great, we got to look down over the oyster box and onto the sea.

Our stay was great and the pricing was even better!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the presidential suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaun_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to hotel again in the not too distant future .Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My boyfriend decided to spoil me for Valentines Day and arrange for a short break to Beverly Hills Umhlanga.Apon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff which made it an exciting start,the room was beautiful and the room service very prompt.How ever thats where the service ended.Our breakfast experience was terrible as the waiter completely messed up my vegetarian hot breakfast,not to mention that we had to ask for service.The Valentines dinner felt as if they shoved us down stairs in a corner and for got about us and to set the table correctly .It actully looked as if they had to many guest that booked for that evening and need to make a quick plan to arrange something in the bar seating down stairs.The dinning area was dull dressed in blue and the waitron service even more unbearable ,the look of disappointment on his face for the second time was just to much for me to keep quiet,as he had booked the break 1 month in advance and as well told them to arrange flowers for the room apon arrival(disappointment no 1).He looked disappointed when we arrived in the room and later i discovered that they forgot the flowers and just put a bunch of mix roses not the red as he specifically requested and all this a day later and after he had gone down to remind them of his special request as stipulated on the prior arrival form.Thank you very much but no thank you,we will not be going back there.

Room Tip: Tell them not to but you in the room with the a inter leading door to the next room as you might her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We have noted all your comments and are determined to rectify each and every point. I will correspond with you personally to put this situation right.. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

On reflection my stay was just OK. Apart from the superb pool-side service including ice water top ups and fruit kebabs, the rest of the staff seemed asleep at the wheel.I think for the prices they ask there is better value to be found elsewhere. This once great hotel is just so average at present. Can't say I'm going back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all constructive comments and were saddened to learn of your disappointing stay. Professional intuitive service is core to our property and your concerns have been dealt with in detail.We hope hope you will return to our hotel again in the not too distant future to judge for yourself that the hotel is worthy of her wonderful reputation Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel located at the coast of Durban, overlooking great beach, delicious breakfast..
You may even see whale during our breakfast...seeing Dolphin is quite easy....

I know one of my friend called reception asking they could could turn off the noise , which he got to know to be the sound of ocean waves :-)

Room Tip: avoid see side rooms if wave sound disturbs you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilsatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad you enjoyed dolphin watching while dining. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future Warm regards Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

As a kick start to a 2 week holiday which included a cruise to Inhambane aboard the MSC Opera, we decided to spend 2 nights at the Beverly Hills hotel in Umhlanga. At the same time we also went for some extravagance and booked into one of their King suites.

Overall the stay was excellent. The room on the 7th floor, had an ocean view and overlooked the pool and the multi tiered patio. Despite some indifferent weather we were able to fully utilise the rooms facilities, which included a large flatsreen TV, DVD player and well stocked minibar.

The breakfasts are out of this world and the salmon that was served was top quality. The hotel is well located in terms of its proximity to the airport and malls. The hotel also offers a luxury vehicle for airport transfers free of charge. Hotel staff went out of their way to ensure that we were well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms are sea facing which is a treat for every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing