We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old lady is past her prime”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

On reflection my stay was just OK. Apart from the superb pool-side service including ice water top ups and fruit kebabs, the rest of the staff seemed asleep at the wheel.I think for the prices they ask there is better value to be found elsewhere. This once great hotel is just so average at present. Can't say I'm going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all constructive comments and were saddened to learn of your disappointing stay. Professional intuitive service is core to our property and your concerns have been dealt with in detail.We hope hope you will return to our hotel again in the not too distant future to judge for yourself that the hotel is worthy of her wonderful reputation Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
There are newer reviews for Beverly Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel located at the coast of Durban, overlooking great beach, delicious breakfast..
You may even see whale during our breakfast...seeing Dolphin is quite easy....

I know one of my friend called reception asking they could could turn off the noise , which he got to know to be the sound of ocean waves :-)

Room Tip: avoid see side rooms if wave sound disturbs you
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilsatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad you enjoyed dolphin watching while dining. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future Warm regards Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

As a kick start to a 2 week holiday which included a cruise to Inhambane aboard the MSC Opera, we decided to spend 2 nights at the Beverly Hills hotel in Umhlanga. At the same time we also went for some extravagance and booked into one of their King suites.

Overall the stay was excellent. The room on the 7th floor, had an ocean view and overlooked the pool and the multi tiered patio. Despite some indifferent weather we were able to fully utilise the rooms facilities, which included a large flatsreen TV, DVD player and well stocked minibar.

The breakfasts are out of this world and the salmon that was served was top quality. The hotel is well located in terms of its proximity to the airport and malls. The hotel also offers a luxury vehicle for airport transfers free of charge. Hotel staff went out of their way to ensure that we were well looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms are sea facing which is a treat for every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The first view that greets you as look out of your room is this beautiful beach, with a picture perfect lighthouse in the corner of your view... Combine this gorgeous view (and the soothing sound of the ocean) with exceptional service and the warmth and exuberance of the staff, and it is easy to see why this hotel rates a 5 in the books of every visitor whose reviewed it...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyagi_Abhinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our superb location,intuitive service and passionate staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a 6 star experience from the time we walked in the door, to the moment we left! The management and staff were so at-tentative, to our every need, and were all so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much effort. We had in room dining all the time, and the food was first class. The view from the rooms was stunning, and we could watch the sunrise over the waves, Fantastic! The bedroom and bathroom were great, with complimentary wifi! We WILL be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are Fantastic with sea views!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted your stay with us was a memorable one, and glad your enjoyed the Cabanas. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I say this is the Best of the Best hotels. I have made it a habit to spend at least 2 to 4 niights every year. It is good for relaxing and reflecting on the year. The service is excellent and staff is empowered to serve the guest with the highest level of excellence. My wife loves it and my daughter could not get enough of the swimming pool and playing with sand in at the beach close by. We stayed at Caban 4 with stunning sea views....Beautiful

Room Tip: I have slept in all of them but I fell in love with Cabans
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we agree, the pool and pool terrace is a very special place. we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon. Warm regards John de Canha , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent four nights with my elderly mom (who lives in SA ) around Christmas.... hotel staff are extremely attentive and empowered to assist guests. The setting is stunning, with the pool overlooking the ocean. Poolside service was excellent. Breakfast was included in our package and was really exquisite.... Choice and variety worthy of a tropical paradise.... including a glass of champagne that early! The gym is not expansive, but pleasant.
The room was somewhat small but well-appointed. Balconies are a welcome addition on all rooms overlooking the ocean... One annoying detail was the bath, were water would spill over onto the floor no matter how tight the shower curtain was drawn.
I am a finicky guest with high expectations, especially when paying such premium rates, but the hotel more than met expectations. By N.American standards, food and beverage rates were reasonable for this level of service. Would love to return for a more romantic visit with my wife!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted your stay with us was a memorable one, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $298 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing