We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional is an understatement...”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The first view that greets you as look out of your room is this beautiful beach, with a picture perfect lighthouse in the corner of your view... Combine this gorgeous view (and the soothing sound of the ocean) with exceptional service and the warmth and exuberance of the staff, and it is easy to see why this hotel rates a 5 in the books of every visitor whose reviewed it...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyagi_Abhinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our superb location,intuitive service and passionate staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a 6 star experience from the time we walked in the door, to the moment we left! The management and staff were so at-tentative, to our every need, and were all so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much effort. We had in room dining all the time, and the food was first class. The view from the rooms was stunning, and we could watch the sunrise over the waves, Fantastic! The bedroom and bathroom were great, with complimentary wifi! We WILL be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are Fantastic with sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted your stay with us was a memorable one, and glad your enjoyed the Cabanas. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I say this is the Best of the Best hotels. I have made it a habit to spend at least 2 to 4 niights every year. It is good for relaxing and reflecting on the year. The service is excellent and staff is empowered to serve the guest with the highest level of excellence. My wife loves it and my daughter could not get enough of the swimming pool and playing with sand in at the beach close by. We stayed at Caban 4 with stunning sea views....Beautiful

Room Tip: I have slept in all of them but I fell in love with Cabans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we agree, the pool and pool terrace is a very special place. we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon. Warm regards John de Canha , General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent four nights with my elderly mom (who lives in SA ) around Christmas.... hotel staff are extremely attentive and empowered to assist guests. The setting is stunning, with the pool overlooking the ocean. Poolside service was excellent. Breakfast was included in our package and was really exquisite.... Choice and variety worthy of a tropical paradise.... including a glass of champagne that early! The gym is not expansive, but pleasant.
The room was somewhat small but well-appointed. Balconies are a welcome addition on all rooms overlooking the ocean... One annoying detail was the bath, were water would spill over onto the floor no matter how tight the shower curtain was drawn.
I am a finicky guest with high expectations, especially when paying such premium rates, but the hotel more than met expectations. By N.American standards, food and beverage rates were reasonable for this level of service. Would love to return for a more romantic visit with my wife!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted your stay with us was a memorable one, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed at many 5 Star hotels around the world, but have never experienced service this good. The staff were attentive and highly personable. If you are looking for a vacation in which all the staff will know your name (despite there being 80+ bedrooms) and in which they will seemingly anticipate what you want almost before you know you want it, then this hotel should be top of your list. The rooms could perhaps be a little larger, but this is more than compensated for by the sea-views and the location. The food is also excellent - and there is a range of great restaurants in walking distance from the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest - We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Beverly Hills . Our staff are our most valuable asset and creating special memories for each guest is our central focus. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Perfect location, excellent service and attention to customer specific needs. An overall luxurious experience. In room dining was a slight disappointment, but managers quickly stepped in. Only luxury missing is a spa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marge887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and that our team responded efficiently to your culinary needs. we hope to see you back soon. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for my anniversary and the moment you enter you are treated like a king. World class service definitely which is unusual in south Africa.

Breakfast is excellent

Car parking is a little cramp but not a major issue

Rooms are elegant. Bathroom is a bit 1980ish but adequate. The seaview from the balcony makes up for it thou :-)

Plenty of bars clubs and eateries in close proximity. Gateway mall is just a drive up the road.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaheer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and glad your anniversary was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

warm regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $272 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing