We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible aircon”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Do not stay here in the Summer ! We are currently staying at the Beverley Hills and we have complained 4 times today that our aircon is not working! It is 2.30 am in the morning and no one can sleep because it is so hot and despite 4 complaints about the aircon it is still not fixed! Update....3am someone has found us another room where aircon was working! Packed all our stuff in the middle of the night and moved to a tiny room with only a shower and small bed for my 6 foot 4 husband! Really not good enough for a five star establishment ! Rather stay at the Oyster Box next door - better service!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were truly concerned that your air conditioner played up during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Rest assured this problem has now been rectified . We do hope to welcome you back to the Beverly Hills in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were especially blessed by our driver! Steven fetched us from the airport and took us to Gateway. It was spacail. Also the service each morning by Dennis our waiter at breakfast!! He remembered so many details of our preferences as well as his friendliness and efficiency were outstanding.
The most amazing part of the great service, however must be Claude the concierge. He arranged so much for us... Nothing was any trouble whatsoever! Thank you Claude.
We will return again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and agree with you - our staff are very special! we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. warm regards John de Canha, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a cabana for a few days on our honeymoon and it was amazing. The hotel staff was friendly and always willing to help and the room and view were gorgeous. We were only a couple minute walk from bars and restaurants and can't wait to go back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank UConn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! we are delighted you enjoyed the cabanas and the proximity to the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

warm regards John de Canha, general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was blown away by this hotel! It is beautiful, spacious, cosy, the food is very good and the staff kind, friendly, with personlized touch! The pool is stunning, with views on the Indian Ocean and the light house. The garden lounging chairs are perfect, with water, magazines and sunscreen at disposal. The breakfast has a very wide choice of fine foods (incl. champagne!), to eat inside or on their beaufiful terrrace. Internet connexion is fast, cocktails delicious. One other main advantage of this hotel is its location, right on the beach, with access to the alkway that takes you along the beach for runs or walks, and it is safe during the day. I would for sure go back to this particular hotel, this is now one of my two favorite places in the world, and I travel a lot!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anouk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is our privilege to serve and take pride in offering the little extras. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards General Manager, John de Canha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Claude is so charming and a real asset to the hotel... Thank you for an amazing stay... Lead by an incredable GM - John, you are just the best! Location of this hotel is in one of the most beautiful areas, on the beach frount and the place to be..

Room Tip: Rooms that have a balcony and seating area over looking the sea are just the best.. Love the Beverly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are glad you agree that our location is simply stunning and we hope to see you back very soon . Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I travel a lot at work and stayed in numerous hotels. But I never had a better hotel experience than Bevely Hills !
Its evident that the location on the beach and the setting with sea-view is a great start and very attractive. But you often find the service in attractive location a bit more to wish for. Not here, the service level is incredible with the friendly staff omnipresent and competent. Rooms, pool, breakfast, afternoon and evening live music - all at highest level. Attention to detail; chilled towels in a fridge in the gym...

Will try to come back and very happy to recommend this hotel to anybody !

Mats Ahnlund
Geneva
Swityerland

Room Tip: If i understand right, all rooms have sea view. I stayed at top-floor and it was great, but there se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mats60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Mr Uhnlund Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree, we have the most beautiful setting. We pride ourself in intuitive professional service and thank you for the compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de canna and the Beverly Hills team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I surprised my wife with two nights at the Beverly Hills hotel for her birthday. We traveled as a family with our two sons, 4 years old and 10 month old, and their Nana after having enjoyed a week at the Umhlanga Sands. I booked the inter-leading family rooms which were fantastic and upon arrival we found fruit platters and a welcome back letter from the general manager which was a nice touch as we had stayed there before.

Prior to this, whilst sipping champagne, during our check-in I mentioned to the lady at the front-desk that it was my wife's birthday and a complete surprise as we had been due to travel back that day. Immediately as we arrived in the room there was a knock on the door and my wife was presented with a delicious chocolate mousse birthday cake and bottle of sparkling wine with compliments of the Beverly Hills Hotel. Needless to say my wife was over the moon and had a super special birthday.

The Beverly Hills is a great hotel and these fantastic small touches is what sets it apart.

My only gripe was the Sugar Club restaurant was disappointing. My fillet was average and I had to remind the waiter that it was supposed to be accompanied with sauce Bearnaise for which he had to check the menu to confirm the fact. Even though he had clearly forgot to bring the sauce, because it was more like scrambled egg when it arrived, he offered no apology. We were further disappointed when we ordered crepes Suzette for desert and he told us "they had run out of pancakes". Really? A five star establishment\chef that cannot make more crepes? It seemed more likely to be the expedient excuse of a lazy maître d' who did not fancy the effort of guiredon service. As a result we had no desert and were left without the sweet satisfying taste in our mouth that the Sugar Club was renowned for in our minds.

As an aside, we ate at the Oyster Box Grill Room restaurant which was far better fine dining than the Sugar Club and managed to serve outstanding crepes Suzette no problem.

The rest of our meals we ate at the Elements bar\cafe which were 5 star, in particular the traditional Durban lamb curry, and clearly a different chef to the Sugar Club. Overall our stay was superb and if it was not for the disappointing meal at the Sugar club it would have 5/5 rating.

Room Tip: 6th floor family inter-leading room great when traveling with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted you chose the Beverly Hills for your wifes birthday celebration but saddened and disappointed to learn of your Sugar Club experience. Your points have been raised and corrective measures have been taken in our restaurant to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha and the Beverly Hills team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $272 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing