We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but Sugar Club let it down”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I surprised my wife with two nights at the Beverly Hills hotel for her birthday. We traveled as a family with our two sons, 4 years old and 10 month old, and their Nana after having enjoyed a week at the Umhlanga Sands. I booked the inter-leading family rooms which were fantastic and upon arrival we found fruit platters and a welcome back letter from the general manager which was a nice touch as we had stayed there before.

Prior to this, whilst sipping champagne, during our check-in I mentioned to the lady at the front-desk that it was my wife's birthday and a complete surprise as we had been due to travel back that day. Immediately as we arrived in the room there was a knock on the door and my wife was presented with a delicious chocolate mousse birthday cake and bottle of sparkling wine with compliments of the Beverly Hills Hotel. Needless to say my wife was over the moon and had a super special birthday.

The Beverly Hills is a great hotel and these fantastic small touches is what sets it apart.

My only gripe was the Sugar Club restaurant was disappointing. My fillet was average and I had to remind the waiter that it was supposed to be accompanied with sauce Bearnaise for which he had to check the menu to confirm the fact. Even though he had clearly forgot to bring the sauce, because it was more like scrambled egg when it arrived, he offered no apology. We were further disappointed when we ordered crepes Suzette for desert and he told us "they had run out of pancakes". Really? A five star establishment\chef that cannot make more crepes? It seemed more likely to be the expedient excuse of a lazy maître d' who did not fancy the effort of guiredon service. As a result we had no desert and were left without the sweet satisfying taste in our mouth that the Sugar Club was renowned for in our minds.

As an aside, we ate at the Oyster Box Grill Room restaurant which was far better fine dining than the Sugar Club and managed to serve outstanding crepes Suzette no problem.

The rest of our meals we ate at the Elements bar\cafe which were 5 star, in particular the traditional Durban lamb curry, and clearly a different chef to the Sugar Club. Overall our stay was superb and if it was not for the disappointing meal at the Sugar club it would have 5/5 rating.

Room Tip: 6th floor family inter-leading room great when traveling with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted you chose the Beverly Hills for your wifes birthday celebration but saddened and disappointed to learn of your Sugar Club experience. Your points have been raised and corrective measures have been taken in our restaurant to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha and the Beverly Hills team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a family weekend and was so impressed by the service. Nothing was too much trouble, especially when it came to the children. They assisted with screaming babies, special requests and all with a smile. The accomodation is lovely and comfortable; they also have great little touches like getting your drinks requirements ahead of time so your room is stocked before you arrive. There is a lovely pool and very easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: I would request a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Lori045 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad you could enjoy family time at the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards General Manager, John de Canha .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I haven't stayed in the Beverly Hills as I only live down the road, however.....
I have been there for breakfast a few times and it is absolutely stunning!
With a buffet to start with of plenty of hams, cheeses, crackers,cereal, fresh fruits, breads, muffins and juices, followed by a full a la carte breakfast menu, you can't help but be impressed.
Their eggs benedict is delicious, and to sit out on the deck in the morning and watch the whales/dolphins swim by before work is just the perfect way to start your day!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lakota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast with us.the dolphins have been very busy of late and we have enjoyed many sightings. we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my husband went on holiday and was spoiled by the staff of Beverly Hills Hotel. on my birthday we've been surprised with a chocolate-mouse birthday cake, champagne, strawberries and cream. they made us feel very special and welcome and took 1 step further than most of the hotels we stayed in. thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anmare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

thank you for celebrating your birthday at the Beverly Hills . We're glad it was memorable! We look forward to celebrating other milestones with you at the Bev! warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at Beverly Hills Hotel for 3 weeks in June, 2011. It's a medium-sized hotel on the outskirts of Durban, a posh locality called Unhlanga Rocks, overlooking the sea.

The breakfast is really great, and you can have it on the deck overlooking the pool and the sea. The rooms are comfortable and medium sized closets - a necessity for me since I was staying for 3 weeks!

The biggest asset was the location - I would wake up to the sound of waves crashing on the beach in the morning. The balcony overlooked the pool as well and had chairs hence an amazing place to sit and watch the sun rise.

The only con was that the pool wasn't heated and we were in South Africa in June, peak winter season, and freezing. Also, there was no iron available in the rooms but the plus side was that you can get all the clothes ironed, without an additional charge.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is located on a beautiful spot in Umhlanga. The rooms are all sea-viewing, the staff is attentive and the food excellent especially the breakfast (have it on the deck - beautiful). Try lunch or even dinner in the restuarant down stair is - you will not regret it!! There's a board walk in front of the hotel that you'll be able to walk/jog/run next to the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strohfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay an the facilities. Our food is receiving rave reviews from every one too! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here with our team on a weekend, it rained all weekend unfortunitly but the service received was world class. Rooms are impressive, service be it breakfast or supper was excellent and atentative. The quality and range of food on offer was also excellent. The attention of management was obvious with the general manager visable at all times, we do not often see senoir management at most hotels, thus this hotel is an exception. Well worth the 5 stars! Need to go back when it's not raining but with such good service and food the warmth inside made up for the weather outside.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. it was our privileged to play host to your group. Sorry the weather did not play 'ball' and we hope to welcome you back to the sunny East Coast soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umh...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $317 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing