We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRTHDAY CAKE AT BEVERLY HILLS”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my husband went on holiday and was spoiled by the staff of Beverly Hills Hotel. on my birthday we've been surprised with a chocolate-mouse birthday cake, champagne, strawberries and cream. they made us feel very special and welcome and took 1 step further than most of the hotels we stayed in. thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anmare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

thank you for celebrating your birthday at the Beverly Hills . We're glad it was memorable! We look forward to celebrating other milestones with you at the Bev! warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at Beverly Hills Hotel for 3 weeks in June, 2011. It's a medium-sized hotel on the outskirts of Durban, a posh locality called Unhlanga Rocks, overlooking the sea.

The breakfast is really great, and you can have it on the deck overlooking the pool and the sea. The rooms are comfortable and medium sized closets - a necessity for me since I was staying for 3 weeks!

The biggest asset was the location - I would wake up to the sound of waves crashing on the beach in the morning. The balcony overlooked the pool as well and had chairs hence an amazing place to sit and watch the sun rise.

The only con was that the pool wasn't heated and we were in South Africa in June, peak winter season, and freezing. Also, there was no iron available in the rooms but the plus side was that you can get all the clothes ironed, without an additional charge.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is located on a beautiful spot in Umhlanga. The rooms are all sea-viewing, the staff is attentive and the food excellent especially the breakfast (have it on the deck - beautiful). Try lunch or even dinner in the restuarant down stair is - you will not regret it!! There's a board walk in front of the hotel that you'll be able to walk/jog/run next to the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strohfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay an the facilities. Our food is receiving rave reviews from every one too! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here with our team on a weekend, it rained all weekend unfortunitly but the service received was world class. Rooms are impressive, service be it breakfast or supper was excellent and atentative. The quality and range of food on offer was also excellent. The attention of management was obvious with the general manager visable at all times, we do not often see senoir management at most hotels, thus this hotel is an exception. Well worth the 5 stars! Need to go back when it's not raining but with such good service and food the warmth inside made up for the weather outside.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. it was our privileged to play host to your group. Sorry the weather did not play 'ball' and we hope to welcome you back to the sunny East Coast soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

BH has maintained a consistent standard over the last 2 decades. Staff are most accommodating, many have been at the hotel for many years. Food, particularly at the pool restaurant is excellent. The pool,deck is like lounging on the deck of a cruise liner. Great breakfasts

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank bramm_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. the pool deck is one of our favourite places to relax and unwind! we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future .Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

it can be beautifull spot but the service and the food needs help, the waiters works there like they doing us a favor, and managers are standing around waiting for they shift to be over.
i really think that as a 5stars hotel must improve that as am a tourest and your standerd is like 2star in our country.

Room Tip: manager and staff needs training.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your constructive criticism assists us in improving standards. The hotel is committed to professional intuitive service and you have my assurance that corrective measures will be put in place. I would welcome the opportunity to make contact with you myself directly to ensure when you are travelling to uMhlanga again I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is not a 5 star hotel. Star grading definitely needs to be reviewed. Hotel needs a serious upgrade and Staff need etiquette training at the least We requested a king size bed in our room and were given twin beds. we had to wait close to 45minutes for a baby cot to be sent up for my daughter. staff did not know the basics about their own hotel. eg: when asked about spas and steam rooms, staff would state that they were new and did not know. My husband and I look very young and as a result we felt that the service and etiquette towards us were compromised. No 24 hour rooms service! We requested sun beds on the beach, but had to constantly follow up, eventually having to call the front desk from our cellphones from the beach to have it set down. waited another 40mins for that! was very disappointing.

Room Tip: go for a suite rather than a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadisha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your constructive criticism is appreciated. Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the hotel and its team for your disappointing stay. All areas of concern have been discussed in detail with the relevant departments and corrective measures will be put in place.
I would like to make contact with you myself directly to ensure when you are travelling to uMhlanga again I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $262 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing