We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel ever”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
“best hotel ever”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The friendly and supportive staff a real outstanding characteristic of this great hotel. They spoiled us as from day 1 and treat us like royalty. The breakfast was absolute outstanding. The housekeeper who served our room every night, Anele Mhlonlto spoiled us with slippers in front of our beds, chocolates and Good Night cards at the waredrobe. It was like heaven on earth and a fantastic exoerience. Well done to the hotel. 5 star status to this hotel

Room Tip: * All roons fantastic view on the pool and ocean. * Higher rooms beter view on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerhard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    191
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
242
452
32
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH AFRICA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I recently stayed over at the Beverly Hills and had a wonderful stay. I arrived exhausted after a long business day and was treated like a queen from the minute I walked in the door. The Bev is really worth every cent. The most defining aspect of the Beverly Hills is their staff who are the best ever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUISESouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanking for sharing your happy hotel experience with us. It is our privilege to offer professional and intuitive service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

What a hotel...clean, spacious, amazing view over the Indian ocean. Great service, clean water, complimentary fruit, nespresso and wine - I am a VERY high standards customer - this hotel ticked every box for me.
The staff are friendly, courteous and the rooms immaculate.
The balcony view over the ocean made my trip and I loved sipping coffee in the morning with such a view.
Much cheaper than close rivals - stay here and take advantage of the amenities next door - such as the Indian buffet - the rooms here are worth every penny...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandEKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you stayed with us on your recent business trip to Umhlanga. we do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Beverly Hills ... perhaps your next vacation?

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have witnessed this hotel change from its inception in the 60's till today. Overall it is still a very good hotel, however, we found that the rooms were extremely small and the bed in our case consisted of two single beds moved together. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. The hotel itself is well maintained but the decor is somewhat dated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It seemed to cater to much more of a senior age group and was quite empty at the time we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teedee1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been noted, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife an I travel extensively and internationally; the service levels and positive staff attitude at this hotel was of the best we've experienced for many years.
We stayed for 4 days, and the experience was consistently good across all areas of the hotel - from the reception to the restaurant to the room service and housekeeping.
We can recommend it and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Ensure you pick a room with a direct view of the ocean; it's stunning because it feels so close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our privilege to serve you and we hope to welcome you back to the Beverly Hills in the not too distant future

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was one of Durbans best hotels. In recent times it has gone downhill in respect of food and decor. Food at the downstairs elements is still good but about a year ago when they changed Chefs they downgraded the menu. For eg they swopped norweigen Smoked salmon for trout and various other cheapening of items. However this hotel has a lovely balcony to sit over the sea and its views are breathtaking. It still makes the best lamb curry in Durban and on cold nights you can sit over he sea with a provided blanket to cuddle into and eat a great curry. A very nice touch I think. Luxury hotel. Was 5 stars but more like a 4. If you want a room with a view you cant go wrong here

Room Tip: All have beautiful direct ocean views None face backwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luxuryreviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your constructive review. Your feedback has been noted and greatly assists as in our pursuit for service excellence. we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed for four nights during a business trip. The staff were outstanding from the General Manager who gave us a personal welcome through all levels of management and service. Their friendliness was totally genuine. They could not have done more to make us feel so comfortable.
Service and food was outstanding, so were the levels of cleanliness, security and comfort.
I travel the World - this hotel is up there with the best of places to stay and next time I am in Durban this will be my base. KC and EMD

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJJC187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for a fabulous review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing