We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a one-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for a one-night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was my second stay at City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge and I had an idea what to expect. Knowing that the hotel will be busy due to the Durban Tourism Indaba, I requested a room on the inside overlooking the pool in advance (it is too noisy on the side of Gateway Shopping centre). Upon arrival, I was allocated my requested room, but that was it. The reception staff did not advise me of the facilities in the hotel, breakfast times or any other important information. I read about the breakfast times over weekends as well as the internet connection and fitness room in the service directory in my room. The reception staff should have at least asked me if I had any questions or need information.
Later, I wanted to use the printing facilities to print my boarding pass. I was advised that the printer does not work, but that I can email it to the duty manager who will print it. I did so and 15 minutes later had a knock on my door with the printed copy. This experience redeemed the check-in experience!
The hotel is conveniently located and it is easy to walk over to Gateway for dinner or shopping. The room that I stayed in was comfortable and clean. Everything was in working condition.
City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge is recommended for short stays and offers value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside, facing the pool - it can be noisy on the side of the shpooing centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADavis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for your constructive criticisms. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    80
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
25
5
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The City Lodge group offer rooms over weekends on auction @ bid2stay. We used this offer and stayed overnight to shop at Gateway. (The auction process is very simple to use.) As a result we stayed at a reasonable price and had a pleasant stay right opposite Gateway, so you can walk to restuarants and shops even in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review - we're glad that our auction site is working for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a prime location, but the hotel rooms are terrible. The cost is not very high though, this hotel really need room furniture up lift. There's lots of restaurant and night clubs close to this hotel without a need to drive

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you like our location, but not so glad that you don't like our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is part of the well-tried City Lodge chain of South Africa. It is not the Ritz, but then again, you don’t pay ritzy prices either. In short, you get value for money with a decent, clean room and bathroom facilities, an individual and properly working air conditioning system, a safe for your valuables and secrets, coffee and tea making facilities, a modest TV set with a very modest offering of programs (but in keeping with South African customs plenty of sport channels) and very decent beds in optional configurations. A pity though that the rooms do not have a small refrigerator. But there are ice making machines and soft drink dispensers in the corridors. City Lodges offer the option of an extensive continental breakfast or an English breakfast for those who don’t worry about their waistline, at an extra charge. But don’t expect to be able to order breakfast late. You can also order snacks and alcoholic beverages from the hotel itself and fast food from outside caterers.
However, there is no need to eat in the hotel at all. The hotel is right in the centre of town, but rather quiet, and a mere stone’s throw away from the large Gateway shopping mall which offers a multitude of franchise, wholesome eateries. But do not expect a culinary tour the force here.
This hotel is not a typical tourist haunt; it caters mainly for South African business people and local visitors.
There is a free and very conveniently located underground garage for hotel guests who arrive on wheels. It’s just around the corner. If you cannot find the entrance, park your car temporarily in front of the hotel and ask for directions.
Do I have no gripe at all? Yes I do! The moment you make a reservation through the City Lodge website, your credit card is charged for the full amount right away, even if it concerns a long-term booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis, and have always found it good value. Location is close to the airport but quite far from industrial areas however I would rather use it as a base as it is a pleasant hotel. The hotel is across the road from Gateway and there are plenty of shops and restaurants here should you need them. Access to the motorway also good. Rooms are spacious and clean and generally quiet though the last time I stayed here I was given a room on the first floor above the dining room / bar and it was dreadfully noisy. Staff helpful and polite though I feel they could learn something from their Cape Town counterparts. Breakfasts good and snack menu good.

Room Tip: If you like quiet rooms don't stay in 101 to 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel of all the Gateway area hotels is the most centrally located, a 3 minute walk to the main entrance and even less to a few restaurants closely. The rooms are simple, and getting a little old but well maintained, although the smell of cheap air freshener can be tiring. Breakfast is basic, well perhaps not meant that way, but you can get better food and experience in one of the nearby eateries, although here too, not to expect too much on the quality and service front, at least not early in the morning. A range of patrons, from business, airline to locals, who all push both the up and down elevator buttons, and ask you when they enter "Going up or down?", and get in anyway! Everyones there to enjoy the ride it seems...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythedale Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I were so fortunate to be given tickets to see the Andre Rieu concert in Durban on Tuesday evening. What an amazing show. As we live north of Durban and my husband had to attend a meeting in Durban early Wednesday, we decided to book into the City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge. We were impressed with the service and comfort of the Hotel, our room over looked the quad and pool area, so away from traffic and very quiet. The room was clean and fresh and we so appreciated the attention to little details. After a leisurely cup of coffee, my husband went off to his meeting and I had a wonderful morning brousing the shops at Gateway Mall, just over the road from the hotel. All in all a wonderful night out on the town. We would like to complement the staff and management on a well run Hotel.

Room Tip: I would say the rooms over looking the pool and quad area are quieter than those facing Gateway or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Property: City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Address: 2 Palm Boulevard | P. O. Box 25173,Gateway M.C.P, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated next to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment complex, City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge blends into the surroundings of its modern environment. Durban is just minutes away on the adjacent freeway, as is the city’s international airport. The five-storey hotel is in the heart of the new business district that has emerged in the Umhlanga area. It is also a short drive from Umhlanga’s popular promenade and beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
City Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing