We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Nearby Hotels
$132
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$109
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
$365
$341
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$112
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
$493
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
$237
$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
32
86
38
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
86
38
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgateway shopping centreclub cardbit frustratingfriendly reception staffumhlanga ridgecheck in was easybreakfast menu isgreat bathroombunny chowunderground parkingvirgin active gymroom rateanother guestwater pressurecomfortable stayovernight stayawesome location
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 165 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a prime location, but the hotel rooms are terrible. The cost is not very high though, this hotel really need room furniture up lift. There's lots of restaurant and night clubs close to this hotel without a need to drive

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you like our location, but not so glad that you don't like our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is part of the well-tried City Lodge chain of South Africa. It is not the Ritz, but then again, you don’t pay ritzy prices either. In short, you get value for money with a decent, clean room and bathroom facilities, an individual and properly working air conditioning system, a safe for your valuables and secrets, coffee and tea making facilities, a modest TV set with a very modest offering of programs (but in keeping with South African customs plenty of sport channels) and very decent beds in optional configurations. A pity though that the rooms do not have a small refrigerator. But there are ice making machines and soft drink dispensers in the corridors. City Lodges offer the option of an extensive continental breakfast or an English breakfast for those who don’t worry about their waistline, at an extra charge. But don’t expect to be able to order breakfast late. You can also order snacks and alcoholic beverages from the hotel itself and fast food from outside caterers.
However, there is no need to eat in the hotel at all. The hotel is right in the centre of town, but rather quiet, and a mere stone’s throw away from the large Gateway shopping mall which offers a multitude of franchise, wholesome eateries. But do not expect a culinary tour the force here.
This hotel is not a typical tourist haunt; it caters mainly for South African business people and local visitors.
There is a free and very conveniently located underground garage for hotel guests who arrive on wheels. It’s just around the corner. If you cannot find the entrance, park your car temporarily in front of the hotel and ask for directions.
Do I have no gripe at all? Yes I do! The moment you make a reservation through the City Lodge website, your credit card is charged for the full amount right away, even if it concerns a long-term booking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis, and have always found it good value. Location is close to the airport but quite far from industrial areas however I would rather use it as a base as it is a pleasant hotel. The hotel is across the road from Gateway and there are plenty of shops and restaurants here should you need them. Access to the motorway also good. Rooms are spacious and clean and generally quiet though the last time I stayed here I was given a room on the first floor above the dining room / bar and it was dreadfully noisy. Staff helpful and polite though I feel they could learn something from their Cape Town counterparts. Breakfasts good and snack menu good.

Room Tip: If you like quiet rooms don't stay in 101 to 107.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel of all the Gateway area hotels is the most centrally located, a 3 minute walk to the main entrance and even less to a few restaurants closely. The rooms are simple, and getting a little old but well maintained, although the smell of cheap air freshener can be tiring. Breakfast is basic, well perhaps not meant that way, but you can get better food and experience in one of the nearby eateries, although here too, not to expect too much on the quality and service front, at least not early in the morning. A range of patrons, from business, airline to locals, who all push both the up and down elevator buttons, and ask you when they enter "Going up or down?", and get in anyway! Everyones there to enjoy the ride it seems...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I were so fortunate to be given tickets to see the Andre Rieu concert in Durban on Tuesday evening. What an amazing show. As we live north of Durban and my husband had to attend a meeting in Durban early Wednesday, we decided to book into the City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge. We were impressed with the service and comfort of the Hotel, our room over looked the quad and pool area, so away from traffic and very quiet. The room was clean and fresh and we so appreciated the attention to little details. After a leisurely cup of coffee, my husband went off to his meeting and I had a wonderful morning brousing the shops at Gateway Mall, just over the road from the hotel. All in all a wonderful night out on the town. We would like to complement the staff and management on a well run Hotel.

Room Tip: I would say the rooms over looking the pool and quad area are quieter than those facing Gateway or the street behind.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews