We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was a last minute booking after the fiasco with another hotel in umhlanga, but as it turns out it was a much better hotel, certainly the best location for everything you could want, the beach, bars and restaurants, and useful shops as well as the touristy ones. Everything is clean and comfortable, and its useful to have a few self catering facilities so you can be completely flexible, especially with the Woolworths store just along the road (for uk people its not like woollies, more like m&s food). I can't find any faults and l would certainly stay here again if only l could be so lucky. I didn't try the restaurant, only because we don't really do breakfast unless it is forced upon us haha, and its really nice that the hotel offers you the choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Valarie B
We are thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. We are conveniently situated in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks village, close to restaurants and the Woolworths Food. We look forward to welcoming your back.

Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 316 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is always great. I'm welcomed by the friendly staff that know me by name. The hotels management is excellent, they always make sure that the reception staff are informed of my arrival and as such, I'm always welcomed in a warm way. The hotels location is excellent. Take a run on the promenade along the beach, head out the front door into the village and enjoy the vast number of pubs and restaurants in this vibey town. The rooms are always good and clean.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Gusbehn

As always the true Protea Hotel uMhlanga ambassador. Thank you for all the good comments, I will pass them onto the STAFF.
Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I organised a 5 day on-site conference for 30 people at the Protea and could not be happier with the service that i received. The conference team gave me personal and attentive service months in advance of the actual conference (which was invaluable as i am based in the UK). They organised transport, accommodated all dietary requirements and handled every request that we had throughout the stay, all with friendly service - i have never experienced such an easy meeting. The conference food and drink was delicious, we were provided with a great range of South African cuisine every day, after 5 days i had still never eaten the same thing twice. All of the conference materials we needed were made available, even down to multi-region plug adaptors.

The bedrooms are lovely; spacious, clean and comfortable, almost all with a sea view, the kitchenette was a helpful bonus for the one rainy day.

The location is great as well, a few minutes from the beach, pharmacy next door, a range of restaurants and shops within 100 metres and close enough to Durban to pop in to experience what they have on offer but far enough away to not worry about security etc.

In short, if you have a conference or group stay, ask for Lindy and i guarantee you won't have a problem.

Room Tip: I had a large room on the third floor which i cannot fault, rooms are designed for air-con, so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brokimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Brokimbo
Protea Hotel uMhlanga are thrilled that you and your conference delegation had a successful conference. The positive comments about the STAFF are greatly appreciated, friendly and efficient STAFF ensure our conferences run smoothly.
Our perfect location, situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Rocks village allows GUESTS to walk to the beach, be in close proximity to restaurants and like you stated the pharmacy close by. All the rooms at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga are spacious, all are semi self-catering, equipped with bar fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery.
Thanks for a great review.

Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Protea Umhlanga is a great value for money place to stay on the north coast of Natal: the staff are very service-orientated and very helpful and pleasant. The rooms are large and comfortable and the bathroom is great. As it turned out, the adjustable water pressure allowed me to have a massage every time I showered.

The rooms are quiet and conducive to sleeping well and the breakfast is excellent.

There was no pressure to leave early and the relaxed atmosphere was very helpful.

There is a small but excellent gift shop just outside the front door which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor to get a (distant) view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Jonathan S

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. Our large semi self-catering rooms are equipped with bar fridge, microwaves, crockery and cutlery. Situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Rocks village, within walking distant to the beach and nearby restaurants.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Natal North Coast, Protea Hotel uMhlanga your home away from home.

Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As always, this hotel is a great place to stay. Its clean, the rooms are really good, the staff friendly and most helpful, and the location is excellent. It's right on the Umhlanga activity corridor with an abundance of pups, restaurants and cafes with an incredibly vibey atmosphere. The beach is a short walk down the road.

Room Tip: Higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear GusBehn

Once again thank you for a great write up, you are truly a Protea Hotel uMhlanga ambassador.

Look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed 1 night at the protea hotel, umhlanga. Our room was big but our view was overlooking the roof of the shopping area. It is close to the beach though and good value for the price paid. I would not exactly recommend it for a romantic stay, but for a business trip it works.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, not overlooking the parking/ Mall roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkspitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Elkspitt

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. Our large spacious rooms are all semi self-catering, equipped with bar fridge, microwaves, crockery and cutlery. Situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Rocks village, within walking distant to the beach and nearby restaurants.
Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

It is indeed home away from. we stayed there with my family from 08th - 12th Jan and we enjoyed every minute of it. The room was really spacious and accommodated both my two children comfortably.The staff was really helpful at al times especially Rhudzani from reception....Wil definitely stay there again next time I am in Durban...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapheko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Mapheko L

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. Our large semi self-catering rooms are equipped with bar fridge, microwaves, crockery and cutlery, perfect for family visits. Situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Rocks village, within walking distant to the beach and nearby restaurants.
It is great to hear that you received great service from the STAFF, I will comment Rudzani on a job well done.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel uMhlanga in the near future, your home away from home.
Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,916 reviews
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Address: corner Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $87 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star paradise hotel is your gateway to golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of South Africa. If you want stunning views overlooking the KwaZulu-Natal coast, look no further than Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga. Centrally located in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the hotel is 18 km from King Shaka International Airport and conveniently situated minutes from the protected beach and 10 minutes from Durban. The hotel offers friendly service, comfortable accommodation. Most of the hotel's 174 modern rooms feature breath-taking sea views, and are all elegantly and stylishly furnished. Enjoy a choice between 44 Semi self-catering facilities which include a microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery and tea/coffee-making facilities. We've expanded in October 2016 with a brand new 15-floor tower! In addition to a new reception area and lobby, the project has added an extra 130 bedrooms for your convenience. The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant & Bar is situated on the ground floor, adjacent to the reception hall, and offers delicious breakfasts. The restaurant seats 146 guests and is open from 06:30 to 10:30. The bar is open from 14:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing