We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitly average!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the beginning of november 2013. The staff was verry kind, rooms are spacious, but not of a high quality. In our room was a magno which can be nice if you stay longer and want to warm up some food. Breakfast was good although simple, location near the beach and lots of restaurants is perfect. The pool on the roof is nice but verry small. The parking needs to be payed for extra! There are lots of shops in the same area for which you only have to walk out of the hotel! There are better hotel options in the same area. Protea hotels is quit a large group of hotels. Upgrading their hotel in Umhlanga would really make it far more attractive.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Klave2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Klave2203
Thank you for comments on your recent November 2013 stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga.
We appreciate your comments on our STAFF and spacious room. All rooms at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga are semi self catering, all equipped with microwaves, bar fridges, crockery and cutlery. Protea Hotel uMhlanga is situated in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, close to a variety of restaurants and within walking distance to the beach.
Protea Hotel uMhlanga will be undergoing a refurbishment during 2014 which we are really excited about, as we are the only 3 star hotel in the uMhlanga Rocks village.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind Regards

Sharon Wessels
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

perfect for a quick stay .
shops and resturnts located very close.
room has excellent size, petty hotel built in wrong direction so views of ocean limited.
very clean , and ameneties in room perfect.
staff very freindly and helpfull.
sound from next room not that well insulated.
overall very nice stay, no problems

Room Tip: choose the highest rooms for views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Ashley D

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga. Situated in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks, close to shops and restaurants. The perfect hotel location allows one to walk to the beach, the swimming beach is only a 10 minute walk.

Our large spacious rooms allow for families, 2 adults and 2 children and they are also semi self catering, all rooms are equipped with microwave, bar fridge, crockery and cutlery, perfect for a night in.

Protea Hotel Umhlanga strives for GUEST service and we are happy that your found our STAFF to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards
Sharon Wessels

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is a home from home. I hate mothball places and this is not one of them. This is new, modern, comfortable and CLEAN. I opted for self catering rooms and we were thrilled with the very large room, with kitchen, bedroom and lounge. The position of the hotel is prime and where it all happens. Umhlanga is a resort town, with the best nightlife and restuarants. Love it, and this hotel made it more special.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0se123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear r0se123456

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga. We appreciate your positive feedback on our large semi self catering rooms which are equipped with microwaves, bar fridge, crockery and cutlery.

The location of the hotel in the “heart” of the Umhlanga Village, allows one to park their vehicle and be able to walk to the numerous restaurants, shops and the beach.

Once again we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Sharon Wessels
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Staying in Protea Hotels across the continent on my travels, I had no hesitation to use Protea Umhlanga for needed weekend accommodation with my family recently. Being in Umhlanga, I expected a better than normal experience but was not impressed. The staff were friendly and polite and while the rooms were clean and comfortable, the hotel is badly designed and you feel more like you are in a block of flats than a hotel. Bathrooms have no ventilation other than a window that opens out onto the passage, their is no room service and the only meal available is a fairly pricey breakfast. The TV channels are very limiting and the air-conditioner did not really give much power in its cooling.
Being in Umhlanga, this hotel has lots of potential but you need to look at making it a better hotel experience Protea.
A hotel like Protea Ryalls in Malawi, for example, puts you to shame here and I'm struggling to see how this can be a 5 star rating on TripAdvisor.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear David B
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga.
We are sorry to read that you did not have a “better than normal experience”.
Protea Hotel Umhlanga offers daily breakfast and there is a vast amount of restaurants to choose from within 50 metres of our reception. We are situated in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks village, within walking distance of the beach.
Presently we are in the process of planning a major upgrade to the hotel in 2014. All public areas will be upgrade, our restaurant and bar will be moving down to the ground level. We will also be upgrading all of our bedrooms and bathrooms.

Kind regards
Sharon Wessels
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

i had won a two vouchers for a night and breakfast at a function I went to Ushaka Marine World. my friend and i had celebrated our 50th birthday's May and August and thought would be great for our husbands and us to go away for a night and be spoilt. the rooms were spotless, huge(compared to London) and the staff very friendly. the hotel is situated a road away from the beachfront, restaurants galore and of course Gateway shopping centre up the road. we had a great dinner and watch the Springboks play the All Blacks, at a restaurant called the Press Club and then cuppachinos this morning at Remos below the hotel. what a lovely break highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Beverley M

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with our spacious rooms. Protea Hotel Umhlanga is perfectly situated in the heart of the Umhlanga Rocks "Village". We are within walking distance of the many restaurants in the area as well as the beach. A great get away that one does not have to drive anywhere, except to the nearby Gateway Shopping Mall.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Sharon Wessels
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Protea Hotel Umhlanga is my choice of hotel by far in Umhlanga - the Staff remember you if your a regular and they bend over backwards to assist you. The Hotel is perfectly situated on the Resturant Strip you you have a selection of over 10 Restaurants to choose from when you there. the rooms are very big so it makes a business trip so much better as you dont feel cramped in a room. They are busy renovating so you might still get a older room which honestly is not bad. Semi self catering so if you dont feel like eating dinner on your own - get take out and eat it in your room. This is my choice by far in Umhlanga.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear John P

Thank you for being a true Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ambassador!

We are thrilled that our STAFF meet and exceeded your needs.
Our semi self-catering rooms are convenient for business travellers and holiday makers, equipped with microwaves, bar fridges, crockery and cutlery.

Protea Hotel Umhlanga is situated in the village of Umhlanga Rocks, within walking distance of the many restaurants, a great variety to choose from and the good thing is that some of them will deliver your food to your room. The hotel offers a full buffet breakfast daily or if you are strapped for time we offer a takeaway breakfast pack.

As your choice of hotel in Umhlanga, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Sharon Wessels
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

we stayed in a nice big room
always clean and spacious
i will suggest that the aircons be upgraded, for me it takes too long for the room to be cooled down
There is a pool on the roof
The dining area is very nice, breakfast still stays my favorite meal of the day

Room Tip: As high up as possible, better view over the surrounding buildings at the sea
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Johnathan N

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga.

We are very lucky to have big spacious rooms and to be within walking distance of the Umhlanga beach.

We are in the process of upgrading our air conditioners to bigger units, so on your next stay we will ensure you are given a room with a new air con.
There is a pool on the roof

Glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast , it's a great way to start the day.

Looking forward to Welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Umhlanga.

Kind Regards

Sharon Wessels
Assistant General Manager
Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Address: corner Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $97 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star paradise hotel is your gateway to golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of South Africa. If you want stunning views overlooking the KwaZulu-Natal coast, look no further than Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga. Centrally located in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the hotel is 18 km from King Shaka International Airport and conveniently situated minutes from the protected beach and 10 minutes from Durban. The hotel offers friendly service, comfortable accommodation. Most of the hotel's 174 modern rooms feature breath-taking sea views, and are all elegantly and stylishly furnished. Enjoy a choice between 44 Semi self-catering facilities which include a microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery and tea/coffee-making facilities. We've expanded in October 2016 with a brand new 15-floor tower! In addition to a new reception area and lobby, the project has added an extra 130 bedrooms for your convenience. The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant & Bar is situated on the ground floor, adjacent to the reception hall, and offers delicious breakfasts. The restaurant seats 146 guests and is open from 06:30 to 10:30. The bar is open from 14:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing