We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Verry Friendly,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Verry Friendly,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I came recently from a business trip in South Africa, and we choose the Protea in Umlhanga, it was very nice, especially if you love British breakfast in the morning, shopping and beach swimming, it offers all,
Its a 10 minute walk to the Gateway Mall, and 20 minutes walk to the nearest beach, the Hotel offers all.Underground Parking for your car, and very family and Business orientated.

Silvapen Group

Room Tip: Its far from the main city of Durban, but well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penalte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Penalte M

Wow, thank you for the positive review. Protea Hotel Umhlanga offers a wonderful buffet breakfast, our speciality is our crumpets, served with syrup and a splash of cream!

The hotel is situated 5 minutes from the beach, and a little extra walk to the swimming beach. Gateway Mall is a short drive, just less than 2km away for a unique shopping experience.

The STAFF at Protea Hotel Umhlanga look forward to welcoming you back when you return to South Africa for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    104
    71
    16
    4
See reviews for
45
77
6
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The location is absolutely the best. On the strip tucked at the end of a court yard lined with restaurants.

Rooms are VERY BIG and CLEAN! They even have mini kitchenette which is amazing when traveling with kids or for long stays.

Hotel has plunge pool on the roof which is super for lazing about. Towels for pool
And beach available from reception for no extra charge.They have breakfast dinning room and bar but do not offer lunch or dinner services.

Walking distance to the beach and about 50 restaurants and bars within 100m radius. The taxi's are conveniently outside the entrance and well priced R250 to durban's USHAKA marine world.

Get yourself a protea hotel card to get great discounts like an free night. This is my 2nd stay with 2 kids and I will go back due to its sheer convenience and value for money.

This is less of a hotel and more of a serviced apartment with breakfast dinning facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Bridgette D

Thanks for the Great write up, the BEST location etc. We do have big rooms, conveniently situated close to the beach and in the hub of Umhlanga Rocks.

All our rooms are semi self catering, equipped with microwaves, bar fridges, crockery and cutlery, perfect for family stays and long business trips.

Our plunge pool on the roof has the most stunning views of the coast, and you are quite correct “super for lazing about”.

As a Prokard member you get great value for money, we will see you soon for your 3rd stay, looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Big room, comfy bed and clean bathroom. The location is perfect for evening meals as it is right in the middle of Umhlanga and close to the beach.. Reception is a bit slow, and the locking mechanism on my door was faulty on the second night. It took 45 minutes to get into my room. This could have been resolved much more efficiently.

Room Tip: Didnt have sea view, so you might want to ask specifically for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just stayed 5 nights in this hotel. It was beautifully kept & the staff were so friendly & helpful. It is only about 10 minutes to walk to the best beach in S.A. Will come back again. Ne l l a

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietronella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the location - right in the village - a huge bonus. There was no need to hire a car as the promenade and beaches were an easy walk away - and the restaurants and general buzz - literally just outside the door.
Therefore, for a relaxing holiday (no car / no exploring and absolutely minimal shopping) - this hotel is a good option.It is really not just for business travellers.
We used the rooftop pool area as well as the beach - loved the spacious clean rooms and friendly staff. Families will enjoy the space and semi self catering options in the rooms (with supermarkets also across the road).
Just two points to note-
the pool area is not accesible by lift therefore if you are unable to tackle steps - there is a flight up from the 9th floor.
Breakfast seemed overpriced - because of all the options in the area - and therefore we didnt go to the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: I would think most have at least partial sea views and I dont think it really matters. The windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in the Protea for three nights in January this year. I could not fault the central location, the room, the staff, the rooftop plunge pool, the cleanliness of the hotel or the reasonable price. There were three others staying with me and we were all equally impressed by this hotel. Everything we experienced there and everyone we met from the doorman to the general-manager were faultless in their demeanour and friendliness which is something rare in busy hotels in popular tourist areas I find. The hotel location was perfect, central and so within easy walking distance to all Umhlanga Rocks has to offer. Should I return to Umhlanga Rocks I will definitely book myself in here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaEves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

located just opposite the huge mall and just a couple of miles from the beach front, this is a good economical place. the rooms are good and the breakfast is awesome. awesome collection compared to some of the other business hotels i have stayed. lot of eateries near the hotel if you want a change of place. there is a small indian eatery few yards away from where you can take away some indian food. only drawback was the absence of a microwave.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a microwave if you wish to heat up some ready to eat meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank saikatBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Address: corner Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star paradise hotel is your gateway to golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of South Africa. If you want stunning views overlooking the KwaZulu-Natal coast, look no further than Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga. Centrally located in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the hotel is 18 km from King Shaka International Airport and conveniently situated minutes from the protected beach and 10 minutes from Durban. The hotel offers friendly service, comfortable accommodations, along with a relaxing rooftop sun deck and plunge pool. Most of the hotel's 250 modern rooms feature breath-taking sea views, and are all elegantly and stylishly furnished. Enjoy a choice between 120 Semi self-catering facilities which include a microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery and tea/coffee-making facilities. We've expanded in October 2016 with a brand new 15-floor tower! In addition to a new reception area and lobby, the project has added an extra 130 bedrooms for your convenience. The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant & Bar is situated on the ground floor, adjacent to the reception hall, and offers delicious breakfasts. The restaurant seats 146 guests and is open from 06:30 to 10:30. The bar is open from 14:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing