We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just stayed 5 nights in this hotel. It was beautifully kept & the staff were so friendly & helpful. It is only about 10 minutes to walk to the best beach in S.A. Will come back again. Ne l l a

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietronella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    104
    71
    16
    4
See reviews for
45
77
6
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the location - right in the village - a huge bonus. There was no need to hire a car as the promenade and beaches were an easy walk away - and the restaurants and general buzz - literally just outside the door.
Therefore, for a relaxing holiday (no car / no exploring and absolutely minimal shopping) - this hotel is a good option.It is really not just for business travellers.
We used the rooftop pool area as well as the beach - loved the spacious clean rooms and friendly staff. Families will enjoy the space and semi self catering options in the rooms (with supermarkets also across the road).
Just two points to note-
the pool area is not accesible by lift therefore if you are unable to tackle steps - there is a flight up from the 9th floor.
Breakfast seemed overpriced - because of all the options in the area - and therefore we didnt go to the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: I would think most have at least partial sea views and I dont think it really matters. The windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in the Protea for three nights in January this year. I could not fault the central location, the room, the staff, the rooftop plunge pool, the cleanliness of the hotel or the reasonable price. There were three others staying with me and we were all equally impressed by this hotel. Everything we experienced there and everyone we met from the doorman to the general-manager were faultless in their demeanour and friendliness which is something rare in busy hotels in popular tourist areas I find. The hotel location was perfect, central and so within easy walking distance to all Umhlanga Rocks has to offer. Should I return to Umhlanga Rocks I will definitely book myself in here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaEves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

located just opposite the huge mall and just a couple of miles from the beach front, this is a good economical place. the rooms are good and the breakfast is awesome. awesome collection compared to some of the other business hotels i have stayed. lot of eateries near the hotel if you want a change of place. there is a small indian eatery few yards away from where you can take away some indian food. only drawback was the absence of a microwave.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a microwave if you wish to heat up some ready to eat meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank saikatBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Protea Umhlanga in Jan 2013 and the location is great for all Umhlanga attractions, is a short walk to the beach and is surrounded by restaurants and bars. The hotel lobby is dated and is overdue for a facelift. The rooms are in better condition and are surprisingly nice with good beds, especially considering the age of the hotel and how tired the public spaces are. The mini kitchen, fridge etc. would be great if you are there for a longer stay.

The pool is on the roof and is tiny and in desperate need of being redone and improved. At least there is a pool....

All of the front-desk staff we encountered were lovely when we were there and were always offering to help us, which was always greatly appreciated. Overall, the hotel is a decent 3-star hotel with a great location. If the prices matched the quality I may have rated it higher, but it's not cheap on a summer weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaynorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed at a few Protea hotels and just found that we have stayed at much better ones, this hotel was just average but fine for a weekends stay. We had an issue with our check-in, we had booked a room with a king size bed and instead got two 3 quarter beds, I complained and it was resolved quickly. The aircons in the room, or should I say lack thereof is very irritating, you are unable to cool down the rooms. The pool area is tiny and not worth using. However the location is fantastic, it is in walking distance to the beach and tons of great restaurants and bars. The staff are also all great and very helpful. I would stay at this hotel again purely for the location and staff service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very good hotel, big rooms with kitchen, you can do your own food with Spar, Woolworths and Checkers in walking distance. Clean linen, bed comfy and shower had good presure. Aircon a bit dodgy, only kept the room cold on colder days, when it is really hot outside the A/C did not do the job.Only had breakfast in the hotel, very good with a big variety. Walking out of the hotel, you will find 14 different restaurants in the street, good vibe and excellent location. If you do get bored it is your own fault, the beach is walking distance from the hotel. Staff was very friendly and I enjoyed my stay here. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Address: corner Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star paradise hotel is your gateway to golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of South Africa. If you want stunning views overlooking the KwaZulu-Natal coast, look no further than Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga. Centrally located in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the hotel is 18 km from King Shaka International Airport and conveniently situated minutes from the protected beach and 10 minutes from Durban. The hotel offers friendly service, comfortable accommodations, along with a relaxing rooftop sun deck and plunge pool. Most of the hotel's 250 modern rooms feature breath-taking sea views, and are all elegantly and stylishly furnished. Enjoy a choice between 120 Semi self-catering facilities which include a microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery and tea/coffee-making facilities. We've expanded in October 2016 with a brand new 15-floor tower! In addition to a new reception area and lobby, the project has added an extra 130 bedrooms for your convenience. The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant & Bar is situated on the ground floor, adjacent to the reception hall, and offers delicious breakfasts. The restaurant seats 146 guests and is open from 06:30 to 10:30. The bar is open from 14:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing