We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
bangalore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

located just opposite the huge mall and just a couple of miles from the beach front, this is a good economical place. the rooms are good and the breakfast is awesome. awesome collection compared to some of the other business hotels i have stayed. lot of eateries near the hotel if you want a change of place. there is a small indian eatery few yards away from where you can take away some indian food. only drawback was the absence of a microwave.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a microwave if you wish to heat up some ready to eat meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank saikatBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    109
    74
    18
    5
See reviews for
50
83
7
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Protea Umhlanga in Jan 2013 and the location is great for all Umhlanga attractions, is a short walk to the beach and is surrounded by restaurants and bars. The hotel lobby is dated and is overdue for a facelift. The rooms are in better condition and are surprisingly nice with good beds, especially considering the age of the hotel and how tired the public spaces are. The mini kitchen, fridge etc. would be great if you are there for a longer stay.

The pool is on the roof and is tiny and in desperate need of being redone and improved. At least there is a pool....

All of the front-desk staff we encountered were lovely when we were there and were always offering to help us, which was always greatly appreciated. Overall, the hotel is a decent 3-star hotel with a great location. If the prices matched the quality I may have rated it higher, but it's not cheap on a summer weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaynorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed at a few Protea hotels and just found that we have stayed at much better ones, this hotel was just average but fine for a weekends stay. We had an issue with our check-in, we had booked a room with a king size bed and instead got two 3 quarter beds, I complained and it was resolved quickly. The aircons in the room, or should I say lack thereof is very irritating, you are unable to cool down the rooms. The pool area is tiny and not worth using. However the location is fantastic, it is in walking distance to the beach and tons of great restaurants and bars. The staff are also all great and very helpful. I would stay at this hotel again purely for the location and staff service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very good hotel, big rooms with kitchen, you can do your own food with Spar, Woolworths and Checkers in walking distance. Clean linen, bed comfy and shower had good presure. Aircon a bit dodgy, only kept the room cold on colder days, when it is really hot outside the A/C did not do the job.Only had breakfast in the hotel, very good with a big variety. Walking out of the hotel, you will find 14 different restaurants in the street, good vibe and excellent location. If you do get bored it is your own fault, the beach is walking distance from the hotel. Staff was very friendly and I enjoyed my stay here. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I was so nicely surprised by this hotel!
I definitely think it should be a 4 star.
The staff on check in and throughout my stay have been friendly, helpful and competent. Everyone from reception, to Thandiswa in housekeeping and even the barman, have made me feel most welcome!
I loved the room! (Well still do, sadly it is my last day). It is really spacious, and done out simply but nicely in blues and browns. There is a little lounge area with sleeper couch and 2 chairs, a dressing table and a "breakfast nook" which I have been doing my work on. There is a small kitchenette, it has a microwave/kettle/toaster and small fridge. I love the fact that I can eat some cereal for breakfast instead of going out all the time.
The bed and bedding are great! The oversize pillows are beyond comfortable, and the linen is a really nice quality. The towels are not great. The bathroom is simple, nice and modern.
There are partial see views, and you look onto parts of the village. Some reviews have said its noisy but I am on the 1st floor and feel like I am part of the vibe, but if I close my windows there is hardly any noise. Others have said the Aircon is noisy, which I guess it is but hasn't bothered me at all!
The "village" with every restaurant available is literally in your doorstep as well as a Woolies, a Spar, a Chemist and Bottle store! What more could you want! Gateway is about 5km away. There are ample taxis at very fair rates.
It is a short walk to the beach, but has a small pool on the roof if you don't want to venture that far.
In case you didn't get it, I love this place and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vryheid
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend with a friend and its a great place for a weekend away. Easy access to great pubs and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The shower was small but it had great water pressure. Nice kitchen with a microwave, kettle and small fridge. A sleeper couch was also in the room if you had small children with you.
Cons of the hotel.
I disliked having to pay R50 a day extra for parking when it is free in most Umhlangha hotels. The parking lot was small and crammed and your R50 did not mean you would get a spot. This should be mentioned on the hotel site.
The floor below us was a smoking floor and the stink was incredible. I am sure something could be done about that.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Northern Side for a distant ocean view otherwise all you see is a carpark. Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naveshnie, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Umhlanga.
Your comments are appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Umhlanga again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Proteain in Umhlanga Rocks before a Capetown journey and liked the place..Clean convenient and with good security if not a bit odd with hours in their restaurant, which was breakfast only. Having said that the hotel is completely surrounded with everything you could need fom diverse and superior dining to basic 6 pack essentials at the Spar Market at the mall across the street. It's a bit pricier than local B&Bs but is only a block from the beach and as mentioned, located smack in the restaurant district..

We ate at a few of the local eateries. They were all great and quite reasonable compared to home here in Hawaii where nearly everything is tourist fare, often quick and dirty and generally overpriced. All of the places we frequented acted like the wanted to see us again,and soon. Some places here in Hawaii have totaly lost that concept by providing a whan bam and (sometimes not even a) thank you maam in the offing.

Liked the spot, the view and the part of town that the Umhlanga Protea is in..I currently have a bum hip and the locale really was convenient for me.. Nice folks in the hotel and our room was well equppied with some cooking gear, utensiles as well as a small fridge and sink..Very nice overall.

Steve
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipnalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Address: corner Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star paradise hotel is your gateway to golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of South Africa. If you want stunning views overlooking the KwaZulu-Natal coast, look no further than Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga. Centrally located in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the hotel is 18 km from King Shaka International Airport and conveniently situated minutes from the protected beach and 10 minutes from Durban. The hotel offers friendly service, comfortable accommodation. Most of the hotel's 174 modern rooms feature breath-taking sea views, and are all elegantly and stylishly furnished. Enjoy a choice between 44 Semi self-catering facilities which include a microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery and tea/coffee-making facilities. We've expanded in October 2016 with a brand new 15-floor tower! In addition to a new reception area and lobby, the project has added an extra 130 bedrooms for your convenience. The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant & Bar is situated on the ground floor, adjacent to the reception hall, and offers delicious breakfasts. The restaurant seats 146 guests and is open from 06:30 to 10:30. The bar is open from 14:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing