We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Addis Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Kranskop
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is the perfect place to rest in a homely environment. I was so impressed with the friendly assistance by all the staff involved in making our stay so pleasant and comfortable. It was also great to know the car was safe. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis B, Owner at Addis Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely bright comment
very encouraging... .

Addis B&B wishes you all the best for this year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
14
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Always god to stay at Addis. Would stringly reccomend a rivision of thier breakfast menu as it gets a bit much to have the full english breakfast every morning when staying more that a few days. Perhaps look at fresh fruit and pasteries and also consider cold meats and so on. Would also be good to stock the bar fridge with addtional items

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekalu E, Owner at Addis Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank so much for your review

its guests like you with such positive feedback
that help us improve on our services and keep us competitive

I will be personally looking into the menu and see how we can revise it for long stays
and I also will look into what additional items we can add into the mini bar please note we are not liquor licensed so unfortunately we can not sell alcoholic beverages but that is another thing to consider in the future.

"a apple a day keeps the doctor away"

stay blessed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The service was good despite electricity problems experienced the first night. The rooms are spacious and clean. The location is ideal with good views and nearer to places of interest. Breakfast was value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Netswell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis B, Owner at Addis Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
I am Glad you had a pleasant stay
thank you for understanding.

keep well hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The place is perfect and a nice view of the ocean. The service is also good and it's in a perfect location; I have already told my friends and family about it, I will book the place again when I go to Umhlanga Rock.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Masilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a comfortable and pleasant stay in this B & B. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was great and we would certainly go back here if we have the opportunity to visit Umhlanga again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rloeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The stay at Addis was relaxing and so peaceful. The room was lovely and neat. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The service was excellent. The location is close to restaurants and the beach.

Thank you to Addis for your excellent service. My husband and I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deshni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Addis is a relief from the buzz and lights of Johannesburg, more-so a breath of fresh air.
Their service is exceptional, from our bookings, swift, transparent and there are very clear and detailed, what you see in their website is exactly what you see when you get there.
The staff is patient, on point, always all the time, will provide for all your needs without complaint. A perfect location, on the forefront to the ocean, quiet, safe,it actually makes you feel very safe, when you are there. It's ocean are best, and makes it worth more, is the sound of the bustling waves in the ocean, at night when you sleeping.
I'd happily book with Addis b&b always when I get to durban.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Herman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.5 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tesorino B&B
Tesorino B&B
#11 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gateway Country Lodge
Gateway Country Lodge
#12 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chartwell Guest House
Chartwell Guest House
#19 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingston Place Guesthouse
Kingston Place Guesthouse
#14 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Bed & Breakfast

Property: Addis Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12 Tibia Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Addis Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing