We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ”

Butcher Boys Umhlanga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Butcher Boys, an elegant upmarket steak restaurant and sister to our Florida Rd store which was established in November 1999 has now opened opened its doors in Umhlanga Rocks on the 1st of March 2017. This sanctuary for meat lovers serve the best grain fed beef South Africa has to offer and our wet & dry aging process results in exceptional quality and texture. Our in house butcheries will cut to your preference whether it be lean or with a little fat or of a particular weight or thickness. Our unique temperature controlled wine cellars proudly house a diverse selection of indigenous vintage estate wines from the fairest Cape and surrounds.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a must visit when you're in Umhlanga Rocks. The good on the menu is outstanding. The choice is great. The value is good. The quality of the food is excellent. The service is good, can be better, but an overall good place to dine in a relaxed and vibey atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    176
    66
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KemptonPark
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Argentinian wine from Cape Town?”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Food was not bad, neither the wine. What threw me off balance was: they had me taste an Argentinian wine. It was very tasty and i ordered a bottle. It was not very expensive (as restaurants go) but reading all the writing on the bottle, this particular wine comes from Stellenbosch in the Cape region... I did not query this. I just wont go back...I was hustled.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Airvertise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Suspect bill”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a large party for dinner for a birthday. The service and food was excellent as always. But unfortunately there was a dampener on the evening when the bill came and we picked up an extra meal and some drinks no one in the party had had on it. I am not sure whether it was an innocent mistake by the waiter or whether they thought we would not notice as it was a big group. He was very apologetic but at that stage of the evening it was not worth arguing about so we just all paid in a bit extra.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliWix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good steaks! Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent steaks and nice vibe, I would go back there again. Been there twice already. Pleasant dining experience and decent menu. Service is also very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“meat meat meat”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had a lovely dinner at Barbacoa in umhlanga last month with friends. Service was good and the food came out in a timely manner. Would highly recommend to all meat enthusiasts....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Boys Umhlanga also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Boys Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing