We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant experience”

Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Butcher Boys, an elegant upmarket steak restaurant and sister to our Florida Rd store which was established in November 1999 has now opened opened its doors in Umhlanga Rocks on the 1st of March 2017. This sanctuary for meat lovers serve the best grain fed beef South Africa has to offer and our wet & dry aging process results in exceptional quality and texture. Our in house butcheries will cut to your preference whether it be lean or with a little fat or of a particular weight or thickness. Our unique temperature controlled wine cellars proudly house a diverse selection of indigenous vintage estate wines from the fairest Cape and surrounds.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

visited with family for lunch. What a nice way to spend a July afternoon in Durban! views to the sea, windows open, lots of life going on outside, restaurant steady but not busy. Very pleasant modern decor and service friendly and efficient. Everyone enjoyed their steaks and calamari especially and the chicken liver starter was quite spicy and the best I have had anywhere in Durban. A very enjoyable meal and reasonably priced. I would go back and will recommend to my guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annalagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

@annalagos Thank you for your feedback. Please visit BarBaCoa again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 468 of 530 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had two excellent pieces of meat - a 200g sirloin and 350g rump. It is certainly not cheap and there is better value elsewhere, but the steaks were cooked perfectly. The side order of onion rings did not deserve to be on the same plate. They were overcooked in old oil and were dry and tasteless. The waiter was inattentive and had to have the order repeated several times. The steak was great but the venue lacked sizzle.

Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

@Ratfink Thank you for your feedback. We will take this into consideration. Please visit BarBaCoa again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were a party of 5 and it was a Birthday. Seated quickly and food was good. The Chicken Liver starters were great and all steaks cooked well. One side was missed and was requested twice but not supplied. The bill was not correct and if we hadn't been attentive it would have cost us. Even with that after a 14 day holiday this was our dearest meal but far from being the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Markie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

@Markie2 Thank you for your feedback. We will take this into consideration. Please visit BarBaCoa again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Dont try them. They will only respond if you press them five days later.

Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

@cachoc Thank you for your feedback. We will take this into consideration. Please visit BarBaCoa again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Another one of our favorite restaurants we visited - it was a steakhouse and was excellent.

Thank wilsonbeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

@wilsonbeachbums Thank you for your positive feedback. Please visit BarBaCoa again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing