We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grill Room

The Grill Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Really well designed restaurant ! Small and exclusive! Good selection of wine and very fresh sea food! Surprisingly knowledgable waitrons! An absolute pleasure! Quite colonial.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KerryandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    78
    40
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The service was impeccable. Endless attention, well cooked food from a very reasonable menu. Prices very compeitive compared with lesser restaurants in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ASK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Flatters but to deceive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant promises more than it cold deliver. Very below average in every way for a five star hotel. Very disappointing and wold definitely never go ack.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanseria, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Exqusite dinning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spoiled my wife, with a rare night-off from the children, and took her to the Grill Room at the 5 star Oyster Box Hotel.

The restaurant is something to behold with thick white wood paneled walls, white leather couches and fine cutlery and crockery one is led to believe you are in the banquet hall of a luxury ship. Once one has soaked up the atmosphere you can then spend at least 30 minutes on one of the most extensive wine menus I have seen in South Africa. It's right up there with the likes of the Mount Nelson in Cape Town. The best South African and French wines listed across multiple years, which is something you don't see often. Hats off to their sommelier!

We enjoyed snoek pate and melba toast which was on the table when we sat down. Then with compliments of the chef we were presented a delicious espresso cup of cauliflower soup before both opting for fresh wild oysters to start paired with a glass of champagne. The oysters were freshly shucked and tasted terrific with the champagne and as they were only medium size we were sent eight each, which was a nice touch, as we only ordered and were charged for six each. We paired the main course with one of the sommeliers' recommended South African red wine blends from a little known farm in Walker Bay which was silky smooth and like velvet on the tongue. My wife had the best seafood curry she has ever had and certainly the first time I have ever seen curry accompanied by two types of naan bread, sambals, chutney, pampadum and rice. My main course of slow roasted springbok loin was succulent and mouth-watering leaving me wanting more. Crepes Suzette prepared on the gueridon trolley is something you only see in the finest establishments so we jumped at the chance and enjoyed the flambe next to our table to top off an outstanding meal with this noteworthy desert.

Feeling naughty, we skipped coffee, moved upstairs to the Lighthouse bar and canoodled on the couch whilst drinking the best Dirty Martini's in town and reminiscing on the days gone by before our children tamed our appetite for regular indulgent evenings such as this!

Expensive, over-the-top, exquisite dining experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch on the Terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sunday lunch on a beautiful day on the terrace of the Oysterbox, overlooking the iconic Umhlanga Lighthouse was a perfect way to celebrate a birthday with the whole family. The Curry Buffet has to be the choice to make - though pricey, it was worth the treat!
This has to be one of the best hotels in Durban. A must-visit, if one is not lucky enough to be booking into the hotel! The Lighthouse bar is also a great place for sundowners.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill Room also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing