We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of AHA Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AHA Gateway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary weekend away. Hotel decor very nice and modern. Rooms also spacious and modern. Didn't particularly like the open plan style bathroom though. I think we're more of an age where we like our privacy!! Breakfast very nice but we didn't enjoy supper there. We opted for supper on our first night there which was our actual wedding anniversary. My husband chose the prawns and I had fish and chips. Fish & chips were OK, batter a bit floury on fish. You could tell they were cooked from frozen and not fresh. However, my husbands prawns were raw when they arrived and still frozen inside. After sending them back, he didn't want to try again and so also chose the fish and chips. Same impression as I had of them so he also left half of his food. Worst was though that when the bill arrived, they had charged us for the prawns!! A memorable anniversary but not in a good way. Needless to say we didn't eat there for supper again. Parking very limited for size of hotel. Compares to other hotels we have stayed in around the Gateway, Garden Court, Protea Hotel etc. All pretty similar in facilities etc

Room Tip: Choose a room not overlooking the wave pool in case they have a party there
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Ann C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel.
Guest feedback, positive and negative, is extremely important to us and your positive comments were encouraging.
We regret the unfortunate experience you had with your Anniversary Supper on your first night and this has been brought to the attention of Management. With regard to the incorrect billing of the prawns, I believe this was rectified.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that we will see you back at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel in the future.
Regards
Carol Macnab
Marketing co-ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for AHA Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

I received much more than I expected from what the hotel group calls a three star hotel. It compares with any other of the four star hotels in the area of the Gateway shopping complex. ON my day of departure I had a meeting with work colleagues, but did not require a meeting room or the like. The friendly staff informed me that I can use the sitting area at the back of the hotel as the area is fairly quiet during the day. What a welcome surprise to receive such service.
The rooms are adequate on terms of size and infrastructure. I was travelling alone and it you travel with a companion which you may not be very comfortable with, the privacy may be a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Andre6612,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel.
Guest feedback is extremely important to us and your positive feedback and 4 star rating is extremely encouraging.
Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Three Cities Gateway Hotel in the future.
Regards,
Carol Macnab
Marketing Co-oordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Attached to Gateway Mall and with a very modern touch. All amenities close by. I didn't stay here, just day visits for conferences and meetings. The conference venues are good and comfortable. Food was exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Khalid B
Thank you very much for taking the time out to post a review on the Three Cities Gateway Hotel.
It is noted that you have in the past been a Conference Delegate on a number of occasions, Guest Feedback is extremely important to us and your positive comments about the comfortable venues and exceptional food were very encouraging and have been passed through to Management.
Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Carol Macnab
Marketing Co-ordinator
Three Cities Gateway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located close to the airport, Umhlanga Rocks lovely beachfront and not too far from downtown Durban. The adjacent mall with movie theaters also makes any shopping as easy as it can get.
It lacks some privacy regarding the bathroom that wasn't closed but besides, it was quiet, enjoyable and the staff was friendly and willing to help with any issue or activity organisation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Nicole C,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and 4-star rating following your recent stay at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel
Guest feedback is extremely important to us and your positive comments regarding your stay are very encouraging.
We do hope we will see you back at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel in the future.
Regards,
Carol Macnab
Marketing Co-ordinator
Three Cities Gateway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Gateway hotel was an amazing stay. Although we didn't try out the restaurant the breakfast spread was always incredible. The serving staff were amiable which made our dinning that much more enjoyable. The hotel is simple, beautiful and always clean.

Our room (double standard) was spacious, the only issue was the open plan included the shower/toilet. So there is no privacy at all (/_\) ! It's within a quiet area so a good nights rest is guaranteed.

Gateway Hotel is located right by The Gateway Mall, there are beautiful beaches a short drive away and a serene view on the roof so no matter your objective all are satisfied. If you are looking to visit Durban (city) attractions be prepared for a +/- 20 min drive.

The hotel parking is limited and so we had to park in the mall on one occasion; however the hotel does pay for it. The rooftop pool area is lovely. The pool was a little dirty, pool towels have to be requested from reception (but on one occasion didn't arrive) and the bar is abandoned.

Even the little things that can still be improved upon were insignificant compared to the amazing service we received.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Purity N,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and 5-star rating following you stay at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel.
Guest Feedback is extremely important to us and the issues that you raised were brought to the attention of Management and are being monitored on a regular basis. However, your positive comments were greatly appreciated and fed back to the departments concerned.
Again we thank you and we do hope that we will see you back at the Three cities Gateway Hotel in the future.
Regards,
Carol Macnab
Marketing Co-ordinator
Three Cities Gateway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice Property, very nice and helpful staff who did assist me with my luggage and a friendly driver.

The rooms are quite spacious and well thought out but the bed and pillows for me was quite uncomfortable although that is a personal preference.

I arrived at 22.30 at this time there is no room service, the hotel doesn't provide any complimentary water and there is no minibar so you are a little bit stuck if you are thirsty. I drank the tap water but the taste isn't really great.

The Laundry service is quite restricted there is no express service and you have to drop it off before 8am.

Someone tampered with my luggage while is was in the room which was not really appreciated.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank JonniP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Jonni P,
We thank you for taking the time out to post a review following your stay at the Three Cities Gateway Hotel.
Guest Feedback, positive and negative, is extremely important to us and your feedback regarding some of your experiences was passed through to Management and the Department Heads concerned.
Again, thank you for your time.
Regards
Carol Macnab
Marketing Co-ordinator
Three Cities Gateway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel you wount regret it!! Enjoyd every second of it! The food was amazing plus the room and staff. Rooms are big the staff is very help full and overall a great stay. The hotel live up to the three cities standards and truly is an exceptional hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renierh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Renierh123,
We thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Three Cities Gateway Hotel.
Guest feedback is extremely important to us and your extremely positive comments and 5-star rating of the hotel was very encouraging and appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Three Cities Gateway Hotel again in the future.
Regards
Carol Macnab
Marketing Co-ordinator
Three Cities Gateway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Gateway Hotel

Address: corner Centenary Boulevard & Twilight Drive | Gateway, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $76 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AHA Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AHA Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing