We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
178
164
66
19
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
164
66
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen planrooftop poolshopping mallvirgin active gymmodern roomseasy accessbar fridgebusiness tripwalking distancechecking inconvenient locationenjoyed my staya great stayumhlanga arearoom servicebuffet breakfastcleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 450 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

First let me list the positives. The staff are excellent, always smiling and very willing to assist, with the strange exception of not helping with luggage into the room. The breakfast, which was included in our price, was very good with a variety of both cold and hot choices and both in plentiful supply. Proximity to Gateway Shopping Center was an easy 2 minute walk along a boardwalk which put you right into the Center with its vast selection of shops and restaurants.

The downside for me however was the configuration of the rooms, which are of a decent size, but have an open plan bathroom in which the toilet and shower are simply separate cubicles with frosted glass doors which open out directly into the bedroom with an open plan basin in front - affording no privacy whatsoever for either using the toilet or stepping out of the shower in order to get dressed. This might not worry a man too much, but I, as a lady, was terribly uncomfortable with this setup, preferring to carry out my ablutions in private. There were other rooms that we saw which had a free-standing bathtub next to the bed, just out in the open, and that, for me, would have been even worse than the shower cubicle setup.

If this lack of privacy isn't a problem, then I can add that the rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen tv and were very clean with good quality bed linen and towels. The mattress was too soft for me, but that too is only a personal preference as my husband said he didn't mind the mattress at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WendySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff and perfectly positioned for business and holiday stay when you visit Umhlanga area.
The hotel is also right by Gateway shopping center so there are many restaurants and coffee shops at the door-step.
The room has a large comfortable bed, great shower and is very modern.
Breakfast was included in the price and had a decent variety of food to get the day started.
The free wifi throughout the hotel works sometimes so not 100% reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTechieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room, comfortable and clean. Not massive and there was a bath in the middle of our room which was a little strange since there wasn't a huge amount of space but it was clean and good value for money. Breakfast was great (the breakfast staff were really really lovely). We'd had a few problems on check in, rooms not adjoining as requested, extra bed not made up but these were quickly addressed by the staff and they did their best to make up for the inconvenience.

Whilst you're unable to book online for more than 2 in a room if you book a junior suite, there's a day bed which can be made up. It's the equivalent of a small double and our 2 children (8 and 6) shared comfortably. If you do this, you'd either need to book directly or book and then phone the hotel and ask them to make sure the day bed's made up - there was a supplement but it wasn't prohibitive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headoftheclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times, both alone and with my family. Each time the service has been excellent.

Rooms are fairly unique with toilet and shower in the room with frosted doors which may be an issue if privacy is a concern. Baths are also free-standing in the room for superior rooms. None of these were problems for us.

On our last stay we had inter leading rooms as our two children joined us.

Room Tip: Ask for a mall-facing room as these are quieter being away from the road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Modern and functional design with cubicle like ablution area. Shower only. Room had all that was needed- but no extra comforts. Secure under-cover parking.
Front desk staff offered excellent service and assisted us with arranging a city tour.
Good value for money.
Great access to Gateway Mall and Umhlanga village and beach. Very central for a multitude of restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a standard twin room- which was adequate.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews