We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$71
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$243
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
$299
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sylvan Grove Guest House(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$84
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manaar House Bed and Breakfast(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$82
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$116
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
$642
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
174
163
65
19
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
163
65
19
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen planrooftop poolshopping mallvirgin active gymmodern roomsawesome serviceeasy accessbar fridgebusiness tripwalking distancechecking inconvenient locationenjoyed my staya great stayumhlanga arearoom servicebuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 443 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff and perfectly positioned for business and holiday stay when you visit Umhlanga area.
The hotel is also right by Gateway shopping center so there are many restaurants and coffee shops at the door-step.
The room has a large comfortable bed, great shower and is very modern.
Breakfast was included in the price and had a decent variety of food to get the day started.
The free wifi throughout the hotel works sometimes so not 100% reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTechieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room, comfortable and clean. Not massive and there was a bath in the middle of our room which was a little strange since there wasn't a huge amount of space but it was clean and good value for money. Breakfast was great (the breakfast staff were really really lovely). We'd had a few problems on check in, rooms not adjoining as requested, extra bed not made up but these were quickly addressed by the staff and they did their best to make up for the inconvenience.

Whilst you're unable to book online for more than 2 in a room if you book a junior suite, there's a day bed which can be made up. It's the equivalent of a small double and our 2 children (8 and 6) shared comfortably. If you do this, you'd either need to book directly or book and then phone the hotel and ask them to make sure the day bed's made up - there was a supplement but it wasn't prohibitive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headoftheclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times, both alone and with my family. Each time the service has been excellent.

Rooms are fairly unique with toilet and shower in the room with frosted doors which may be an issue if privacy is a concern. Baths are also free-standing in the room for superior rooms. None of these were problems for us.

On our last stay we had inter leading rooms as our two children joined us.

Room Tip: Ask for a mall-facing room as these are quieter being away from the road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Modern and functional design with cubicle like ablution area. Shower only. Room had all that was needed- but no extra comforts. Secure under-cover parking.
Front desk staff offered excellent service and assisted us with arranging a city tour.
Good value for money.
Great access to Gateway Mall and Umhlanga village and beach. Very central for a multitude of restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a standard twin room- which was adequate.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile


I had a day and 2 nights to kill as I was travelling through Durban from Mozambique,on to Jberg, then Toronto. I was very happy to have found this hotel.I have no complaints whatsoever. The room was relatively large with huge floor to ceiling windows.It was clean,modern and comfortable.
Located right next to the Gateway mall, I only booked the room without the meals included and got a very fair price I thought (about 99USD).
For meals, I just walked over to the mall or different restaurants close to the mall which was very practical. Also good for shopping if you have time.
The wi-fi was excellent and free.
Service was great. There were movie channels on TV with movies playing all day.
It took me 10-15 min to get to king Shaka airport and cost about R$275.00 ( about 28 USD).
I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews