We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel next to all amenities”
Review of AHA Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AHA Gateway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Hotel is close to all amenities, it is attached to Gateway shopping centre and close to UShaka Airport, There is a Netcare Hospital close by and lovely sea views of Umhlanga Rocks, The Hotel staff arranges transport for you to fetch you from the airport and to take you back also. Their staff is very friendly and the place is well kept and clean, the restaurants nearby have good food. It is good value for your money

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 365 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a really great modern hotel. The hotel will collect guests from the nearby King Shaka airport for a fare of R250 per trip with the mini bus able to accommodate 8 passengers.

The hotel is attached to the Gateway Shopping Centre so for all shopaholics it provides easy access to the southern hemispheres largest mall.

The service is good and the breakfast buffet is very generous by any imagination. As for the room, it is a modern design with the shower and toilet simply behind frosted glass in the room. If you are sharing with someone you need to be comfortable in each others space.

The hotel is not close to the beach. There is easy access to and from the motorway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Checking in on a very wet evening was smooth and efficient.

The room was quiet, spacious and well equipped although the bathtub in the middle of the room was unexpected.

The included breakfast was extensive and efficiently served.

Complimentary undercover parking was a bonus as was the connection to the Mall where we were able to complete some last minute shopping

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel. I found the hotel staff very friendly and welcoming. The key for my room was faulty and they tried very hard to fix it timiously. The rooms are modern and the sheets clean. I was told that there would be a bar fridge and there wan't but no worry I didn't need any more alcohol anyway. The only thing that could be complained about is that the toilets and shower are in the same room. This could be an isssue if you have visitors. The location to the mall is excellent and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing te mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is amazing and is located in a great area,Right next door to the Gateway Mall.This hotel has so much to offer:

The rooms are inter leading in a very smart way that even I cant discribe.

If you get one of the good rooms like me,you will have an amazing view of the place.

I advise you to stay here and enjoy KZN'S FINEST!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamogelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

the hotel is located near the gateway shopping mall, that is great value, the staff are kind, attentive and go the extra mile by all means, specially the managers on duty. however they cant make up for the problems the rooms have! rooms that are close to the floor openings, get all the noise from the bar and or the reception, we had a hard time trying to rest with all the noise projecting in the rooms. and some rooms had a humid feel, water in shower was not consistent in temperature and no detail in cleanness.
I am sure there is room for improvement

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the floor openings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nafha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Decent room, with a rather unpleasant view over an unused waterpark - pretty depressing.
Fine as a one night business hotel, and good value at R950, incl breakfast, but nothing special.
The normal touches- pay per view, breakfast room service, are all absent, but this is a 3*** , so I guess that's to be expected.
Staff are good, and well trained - check in & check out are swift & accurate. Restaurant service is very friendly and organised.
I wasn't crazy about the restaurant "construct your own platter" theme, but some ( esp families or groups) might get some value from this.
Excellent location in the middle of the Gateway complex, easy stroll to many other places to eat & be entertained.

Room Tip: anywhere is going to have a view of either the waterpark or the road. I'd choose the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,883 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Gateway Hotel

Address: corner Centenary Boulevard & Twilight Drive | Gateway, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Gateway Hotel)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $78 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AHA Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AHA Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing