We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like cold and corporate, this is for you...”
Review of AHA Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AHA Gateway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Nice rooms, good service...no water bottles in the room was not good. location is good for shopping in the mall. Everything in the room was very sharp and modern, so if you are into that....perfect for you. Breakfast was good and all the basics were there. Walls are very thin. Pool was small but being it was on the rooftop i liked it. they have nice furniture upstairs to lay out on. Have to bring your own towel to the pool which if you pay good money for a hotel they should have towels up there for guests.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siamac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 365 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

What I didn't like was the ajoining rooms. I'm not sure if all the rooms had one, but I and my two colleagues all had one. This basically meant I could here everyting from the room next door, even hearing them visiting the bathroom!

On that note, neither did I like the fact that the bath, toilet & shower are all in the same room. The bath is next to your bed & the toilet / shower, simply have a screen around them. No privacy at all, should you need it.

It is convenient that the hotel is attached to the Gateway shopping centre. You literally walk, through from either the restaurant or bar & your there in under 2 mins. The downside is that they water slides & wave machine are outside your window and it was pretty noisy at the weekend.

If your looking for a reasonable priced hotel & want to stay for 1 night, you'll be ok. But that's about it really. The pool was the attraction for me, but it was on the small side and not enough to entice me back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugheshound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodF11, General Manager at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
Thank Leonardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodF11, Guest Relations Manager at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Thank mahomedvahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank buyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 2, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iandolo_mattia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Marketing & Sales Co-ordinator at AHA Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,882 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Gateway Hotel

Address: corner Centenary Boulevard & Twilight Drive | Gateway, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $78 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AHA Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AHA Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing