We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can improve on breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coastlands Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can improve on breakfast”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My overall experience at the hotel was good except I did not enjoy the breakfast. For me it was lacking flavor and the eggs seemed very oily. I hardly ate… However I loved the room! The bathroom was very spacious, room was neat and well presented. Service was excellent and staff was very friendly. Easy access to everything in the area, quite central in north coast and very close to the beach and mall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youbabyandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    119
    60
    25
    25
See reviews for
57
90
11
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Accommodation is spacious, clean, comfortable and affordable. Food is halal. Room includes breakfast. Good breakfast. Staff at the Coastlands Hotel staff seems indifferent no smiles. Have to find your own table in the restaurant. The only time they make eye contact with you is to carry your baggage. I just assume it is for the tip. But I will stay here again because of the accommodation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I found the rooms to be great - very large with all the comforts - the bed was wonderful. I must admit that I do prefer a bath but the shower was large and all round the room was perfect. The staff were very good and friendly but I was not too impressed with the meal that we had - I found the food to be unimpressive and the breakfast very mediocre. Apart from that the ease of parking and all the other facilities were great. We certainly will be back again.

Room Tip: Loved the sea facing rooms and being on the 8th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mondz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your recent stay at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We value your feedback and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have also escalated your comment regarding the breakfast to our executive chef and will be discussed at executive level. We normally receive very positive compliments regarding our meals and apologize that that breakfast did not exceed your expectations. We hope that you will book your next stay at our hotel again to experience our high standard of cuisine that we normally serve.

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Good location with tons of potential however service was awful and the food bland.there seems to be no obligation towards good customer service. My worst hotel stay ever... Please also double check your bill as I was charged for a few things that I did not order.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We have received your comments and that you were not satisfied with the service and food served.

Please may I ask that you contact the hotel regarding your comment of being charged for items not had at the hotel as guests are requested to sign restaurant, room service, laundry bills etc in order to charge this to their respective rooms.

Your contact details are not appearing on any of the communication on TRIPADVISOR and we are unable to match your TRIPADVISOR alias with the name used when making your reservation.

Many thanks and kind regards

Yours in Hospitality

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a recent fun in fact was a Friday Night before wedding and a Saturday 10-am wedding, both at the same venue.Whilst our host ensured that we had the best tables, and room, we were taken back by the warm reception, and the ease of Parking as we had a disabled person, and also the directions to the function room which was so well displayed.

The clean reception, and also the foyer really got me astounded. When we had reached our venue, we were so taken back by the seating arrangements, the welcome drinks and huge displays of delicacies. Also, the sound,lighting and decor was so well done, What really amazed me was the food selection and variety, from Breyani to western foods to Pastas and curries. All enjoyable, The best part was the free parking as an announcement was made that our parking tickets had to be stamped outside our door.

A real fabulous venue and the wedding was out of this world, with the best views on the ridge.

Room Tip: the ideal function venue, safe and also very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jutishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your recent review on TRIPADVISOR regarding COASTLANDS UMHLANGA HOTEL.

We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us, and that you had a great function. Thank you for your compliments regarding the parking, cleanliness of the hotel, staff and food.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Coastlands Hotels and Resorts.

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Attended a conference at Coastlands last week and I was very impressed with all aspects of the venue. Staff were very efficient and friendly. The rooms were great and the food was good.
Nice pool deck on the 3rd floor which doubled as a smoking area [thank goodness].
The balcony on the 11th floor gave a beautiful view of the coast. I missed bacon at breakfast....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for you recent visit to COASTLANDS UMHLANGA HOTEL and for you review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the positive remarks about our hotel, service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to COASTLANDS HOTELS AND RESORTS in the near future.

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our quarterly meeting was held here over a two day period. Nice comfortable and spacious rooms. Certainly a great location if going to the beach is not a priority. One negative comment was that the staff seem to be tentative when having to make a decision and most certainly are lacking people skills. We arrived very early from the airport and requested whether we could have breakfast as we would not be having breakfast on our return two days later. Needless to say , the restaurant supervisor very bluntly refused to allow this, despite us having paid up-front for the breakfast which we would miss due to our travel arrangements. We were charged for that morning's breakfast.
Despite this I returned two months later with my spouse for a long weekend which we found most enjoyable

Room Tip: Most of t rooms have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Property: Coastlands Umhlanga
Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel overlooks the Indian Ocean, with all rooms featuring partial sea and city views. With optimum space and a modern look and feel, this hotel is ideal for corporate and leisure getaways. The hotel features superb banqueting and conferencing facilities ideal for weddings or corporate functions. With evenings catered for by the highly acclaimed Saffron Restaurant and the Vanilla bar guests are assured to leave with a brilliant taste of luxury. Mornings are best spent in the gymnasium and alongside the deck pool offers the opportunity to enjoy the mid day sun. Above all the Hotel offers excellence in service and always goes the extra mile to offer guests an experience they will find difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing