We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coastlands Umhlanga
Nearby Hotels
$135
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$105
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
$373
$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
$389
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
$223
$217
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
144
158
72
27
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
158
72
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaffron restaurantconference venueprawnsroom keyrooms are biggateway shopping centrebreakfast buffethotel is beautifulbusiness tripwonderful stayroom was spaciousclose proximityenjoyed my stayeasy accesssea viewattention to detailfloor
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 428 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our quarterly meeting was held here over a two day period. Nice comfortable and spacious rooms. Certainly a great location if going to the beach is not a priority. One negative comment was that the staff seem to be tentative when having to make a decision and most certainly are lacking people skills. We arrived very early from the airport and requested whether we could have breakfast as we would not be having breakfast on our return two days later. Needless to say , the restaurant supervisor very bluntly refused to allow this, despite us having paid up-front for the breakfast which we would miss due to our travel arrangements. We were charged for that morning's breakfast.
Despite this I returned two months later with my spouse for a long weekend which we found most enjoyable

Room Tip: Most of t rooms have a stunning view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel looks great, the decor and rooms are modern and very clean.
However the service at the hotel is very bad. I experienced low quality service from the waiters, with drinks taking for ever to arrive one incorrect drink being provided.
The second worse experience was that the room door lock broke. The hotel took hours to fix this and communication with my family who were stuck in the room during this time was lacking and ineffective. Once the door was opened all we got was a meagre apology, I expect more from a 4 * hotel.
I will not be staying here again until I can see a positive change in their service delivery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

To start, this hotel will not allow you to book in early. Not even 15 minutes.

In the room, the basin plug did not work and it stood full of water. Had to call to get it fixed.

At dinner the waiter could barely speak English and kept pointing to the menu to confirm what we wanted. The food took almost an hour to arrive. We also did not see the waiter during this time.

The shower was blocked with water overflowing into the bathroom. This was not fixed after reporting it.

Room service did not have the food on the menu and took more than an hour to deliver a piece of cake. It was only delivered after 4 calls to the kitchen with staff confirming everytime that it is on the way.

The breakfast is like something you would expect from a 2 star hotel. No waiters yo seat you, people taking your table while you are getting food due to ignorant waiters.

The TV audio is stuttering and one can barely hear what is going on.

When you open the window it is filthy outside!

Pathetic!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank johann266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is one of the newer hotels on Umhlanga Ridge road. It is well located and easy to get to from the airport. Buffet style dinners, with strong indian influences. Rooms are nice, modern and well appointed. They do have some issues with there lighting though as I had to call housekeeping twice to replace faulty LED lights.

Room Tip: Nice alternative if the beachfront is to busy for your tastes.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Good afternoon

Thank you for staying at Coastlands Umhlanga hotel and for reviewing our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that it was an overall good experience. Apologies for any un-intended inconvenience you may have had as a result of light globes that may have blown while you were in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you to Coastlands Hotels and Resorts again in the near future.

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great hotel for the price. Nice rooms and had a view of the ocean and enjoyed the layout of space. Short walk to the mall or the sea. Had a fabulous dinner at the hotel restaurant and great breakfast with lots to choose from. Would recommend this hotel. Thanks again for the wonderful stay.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank minmike20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews