We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coastlands Umhlanga
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, well situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I had to fly into Durban for a business meeting, but due to the early start of the meeting I had to sleep over. The Coastlands was well placed, close enough to the airport and also easy to find from the freeway. My initial decision to stay there was also heavily influenced by their competetive rate, thus I was not expecting much in terms of quality. As this was my first stay, I was pleasantly surprised by my experience.

The facility had good finishes, service was prompt and friendly, ample room size, comfortable bed and wide variety to eat. The only irritation was the slow lifts, this required some patience and the emergency escape staircase was well protected against casual use. Everything considered, I will use the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel.

We appreciate your comment and compliment and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Coastlands Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    109
    57
    21
    22
See reviews for
53
83
10
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban North, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

the welcome was very good. staff very helpful .dinner menu was change without letting guest
the guest know . The dance just never happened until the guest took over and played some music . been there the year before as well and it was great they need to keep up with their standards

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine Monic... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our New Years Eve event. We strive to offer facilities and service of the highest quality that exceeds guest expectations and your comments will be taken into account to ensure that our next event is a more pleasant and memorable experience.

Yours in Hospitality
Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Coastlands Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff are not willing to assist. They said ghe had no extra linen matress, ok, understandable but no extra linen!Seriously? The breakfast is chilli/spicy. Everything, even the grilled tomato. They say its halaal. But I thought halaal was no pork not necessarily chilli foods. They need to make that clear on booking because you are forced to go and eat breakfast elsewhere when rate is bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1159Mih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is centrally located and offers beautiful views.Both the rooms and bathrooms are well designed.....very aesthetically pleasing with all required amentities .Breakfast was lovely
However major improvement is needed in their customer services , we had problems with our check in , only one room card per family , and we had to call housekeeping 3 times and still did not get the required service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

What a bad hotel; over and above POOR service; and it being a halaal hotel (we were informed of this after we complained about breakfast and no pork products); we had goods stolen from our room. We have requested video footage in passage to be reviewed; up to this point we were advised they have found nothing...lol what is worst is how they have made us feel and the level of assistance. We are checking out tomorrow morning and when we started to pack realised 1of our bags were missing as well. We were asked did we take bag from our room; maybe left it in the car...well we lost it and told them we are not stupid!!!!!!!!be prepared to wait for 4 hours for drinks at the pool; untrained staff; your goods not safe in your room.... WHAT A BAD EXPERIENCE...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cecil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I have never been more embarrassed or disappointed to have stayed in one of the most prestigious areas on the north coast - Umhlanga. The sole reason for this sheer disappoint is the Coastlands hotel Umhlanga.

From the parking ticket pandemonium to the leaking shower to the abysmal breakfast the entire stay has been tragic to say the least.

For those who wish to stay at this disastrous establishment be advised that you may expect the following:

1. To exit the hotel at any time you are required to visit reception to have your parking ticket endorsed. This is not only most inconvenient, as the lifts are only slightly faster than an airport trolley with its breaks set, but it is also a tremendous waste of paper- in an area which is supposedly well known for its green eco friendliness.

2. For breakfast enthusiasts BEWARE for lovers of bacon and pork sausages will be as sorely disappointed as the breakfast is. However for those who can stomach chilli, curry and spicy lamb, chicken, beans, sausages and eggs for breakfast you will have a field day as everything has some sort of spicy connection to it. When asked about the breakfast though management's simple answer is ... the hotel is Halaal! My problem with this is threefold: number 1- I fail to understand how a hotel can be Halaal, surely it's the staff, management and owners who are Halaal, if I am incorrect please let me know as I would love to understand this concept. Number 2- if you are Halaal surely you wouldn't have a bar and/or serve alcohol; is this not double standard (if I am allowed to purchase and drink alcohol in a hotel surely I can also eat pork??? Unless the serving of alcohol increases the bottom line then I assume it's ok right??) And finally in a country as diverse as South Africa with its dedicated tolerance of various languages, religions, beliefs, cultures and opinions not to cater for majority of its patrons could and in my opinion does amount to discrimination against Europeans and Christians alike. Oh yes let's not forget that management told us that they are not "certified" Halaal but practise it-go figure??

3. Be prepared for careless, slow and inattentive service from the reception staff, who inconveniently sit on the 4th floor, to housekeeping and to maintenance. To save myself the sheer frustration of failed service I did not even advise of the serious leak in our bathroom which after a shower could have been confused with a koi pond.

4. Smokers: don't even bother visiting here as the hotel is as unwelcome towards smokers as rain on a beach day. If you wish to smoke you are however welcome to stand or sit on the pavement like a common bum alternatively the entire hotel smokers are welcome to crowd around and stampede for the single ashtray on the pool deck. However in the rain be prepared to be the "common bum" as the pool deck is not even covered to make provision for those who are fairer skinned or who are sun intolerant, in this case I suggest sunscreen factor 900.

All in all this supposed 4 star establishment is no more worth than a half star!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Hotel itself is quite nice, it has big family rooms and there is more than enough space for everyone. Even the standard rooms are reasonably sized all with a view of Umhlanga.

However the lifts were a nightmare and breakfast is Halaal on most days. You have to often wait for sometime for a lift and on some floors there is no option to use the stairs.

To go to another floor you need a room key otherwise there is no way to access the area, unless you are going to floors 1-4. There was noise each night we were there and some of the staff members are petty insisting you do see things their way, for example: we wanted rooms close together as we went as a family and one of the 'hotel receptionists' insisted that it was silly to request that.

In short, the rooms and facilities are good but there is a lot of noise and half the staff is not properly trained in terms of customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd floor any party happening on the ground floor or 2nd floor will come back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjackie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Property: Coastlands Umhlanga
Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel overlooks the Indian Ocean, with all rooms featuring partial sea and city views. With optimum space and a modern look and feel, this hotel is ideal for corporate and leisure getaways. The hotel features superb banqueting and conferencing facilities ideal for weddings or corporate functions. With evenings catered for by the highly acclaimed Saffron Restaurant and the Vanilla bar guests are assured to leave with a brilliant taste of luxury. Mornings are best spent in the gymnasium and alongside the deck pool offers the opportunity to enjoy the mid day sun. Above all the Hotel offers excellence in service and always goes the extra mile to offer guests an experience they will find difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing