We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room, Average Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastlands Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room, Average Service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Hotel itself is quite nice, it has big family rooms and there is more than enough space for everyone. Even the standard rooms are reasonably sized all with a view of Umhlanga.

However the lifts were a nightmare and breakfast is Halaal on most days. You have to often wait for sometime for a lift and on some floors there is no option to use the stairs.

To go to another floor you need a room key otherwise there is no way to access the area, unless you are going to floors 1-4. There was noise each night we were there and some of the staff members are petty insisting you do see things their way, for example: we wanted rooms close together as we went as a family and one of the 'hotel receptionists' insisted that it was silly to request that.

In short, the rooms and facilities are good but there is a lot of noise and half the staff is not properly trained in terms of customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd floor any party happening on the ground floor or 2nd floor will come back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjackie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    124
    60
    25
    25
See reviews for
57
93
11
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I have the dubious pleasure of having to stay at this hotel every time I am in Durban which is at least twice a month. every time there are little things and sometimes large problems with this hotel. this hotel is always noisy due to the design of a large atrium area and function rooms on the top floor. the housekeeping department call at all times of the day or night for arbitrary reasons. The design of the hotel is not welcoming and has a strange ambiance about it.

The idea of visiting this hotel never excites me and I avoid Durban where possible to avoid having to stay here. There are hotels that seem to be able to make one feel so at home; this hotel makes one feel ill-at-ease every time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jetscream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay here over the long weekend. We really enjoyed the hotel. Breakfast was always good. Rooms are clean and neat. The only issue we had was the poor lighting of the room . It made getting dressed an issue .. Also the lifts (elevators) are also very slow.. There are only two at the hotel. The spa is fair and is good value for money. The staff are friendly and keen to assist. It was an overall good experience

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

As the title of the review suggests, I really enjoyed my stay at the Coastlands hotel in Umhlanga. I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in October 2013 as a conference delegate. First of all my room was huge which was really wonderful, the bed was very big and comfortable, there was enough space to hang my clothes and plenty of drawers. I only had a shower in my bathroom. The air conditioner in the room was also a welcome addition as it was very hot and humid during my stay. I did not have a very nice view - my room was facing the parking area, but at a certain angle I could see the ocean. The service at the hotel was also excellent. A delicious buffet breakfast is served every morning from 6 am to 11 am on the fourth floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. Smoking is allowed on the 3rd floor at the pool until 8 at night but after 8 PM you are required to go to the ground floor to smoke. The conference facilities on the 2nd floor was really nice and spacious and the hotel staff are very organised. We were served scrumptious lunches at a breakaway room on the second floor. The hotel also has a gym and a spa and is located relatively close to the beach.

I'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Try and stay on the 5th floor because there are only 2 elevators in the hotel and sometimes you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anneri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The rooms were large and clean, as was the shower room, but cheaply furnished and decorated. The breakfast menu lacked any pork products, so only lamb and chicken sausage but no bacon. I must say though that we had the cheapest drinks we have ever had in a hotel, so that was definitely a plus.

The hotel is a very short walk from the Gateway shopping centre, but this lacks any upmarket shops so I didn't linger.

We were not happy with the glass walls of the bathroom, couldn't see the point of it all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days with our two children who are too old to share a room and to old to be far away. So we requested interleading rooms and this was provided without a hitch. We had two fabulous rooms and plenty of space. Very modern layout with lovely bathrooms. Our bathroom boasted both a lovely deep bath as well as a walk in shower and the other a huge walk in shower. Our rooms were cleaned daily. The breakfast team were very friendly and did anything they could to make the mornings something to look forward to. We were visiting family in Durban and went out most days but it was always welcoming to come back to the hotel at night. There is a KFC just outside the hotel so we were able to get a quick bite when needed with the children.

We had one small incident with our stay regarding a towel rail but it was resolved by the management and apologies were given, and following up as well.

This is a Halal restaurant and since we were visiting from Saudi Arabia we didn't mind this aspect but others might have issues not getting bacon in the morning. BUT let me assure the little lamb sausages are so yummy, you don't need bacon.

OH and the beds are VERY comfortable, my son said if he could take it home he would.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 10th floor have a lovely view! Well ours did:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My first time in Durban and I was welcomed at this hotel.
reception very helpful and all staff charming and welcoming.
It is quite a walk to the beach and the Gateway shopping mall
but manageable. About 15 mins to each.
Rooms are comfortable and spacious they could do with iron and board
The food in the restaurant is good .
They need a business center,but they did sort out my need to print.
They need more TV channels.I missed the BBC channels such as
World,Knowledge,Entertainment etc.
Gym is adequate but need a weights machine.

Room Tip: 5th fllor is nicest with some areas to sit outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
9.1 mi away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Property: Coastlands Umhlanga
Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel overlooks the Indian Ocean, with all rooms featuring partial sea and city views. With optimum space and a modern look and feel, this hotel is ideal for corporate and leisure getaways. The hotel features superb banqueting and conferencing facilities ideal for weddings or corporate functions. With evenings catered for by the highly acclaimed Saffron Restaurant and the Vanilla bar guests are assured to leave with a brilliant taste of luxury. Mornings are best spent in the gymnasium and alongside the deck pool offers the opportunity to enjoy the mid day sun. Above all the Hotel offers excellence in service and always goes the extra mile to offer guests an experience they will find difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing