We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coastlands Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful New Hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very nice new Hotel on the north coast of Durban South Africa. Rooms are neat and clean and the beds very comfortable. Every amenity you could think of is catered for. The showers are great and spacious. The Reception is on the 4th Floor which is a bit weird. The Hotel seems to be a bit over the top with security concerns by restricting the floors you can get off with your Roomkey Card. Had a very nice pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuben101, Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback, It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. The hotel was certainly built to please almost every guest that stays with us.

We do place a high emphasis on guest safety and our key cards serve also as an access key to the upper floors and guest rooms. This illeminates the possiblity of anyone who is not authorized to visit guests from gaining access to the upper floors.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    119
    60
    25
    25
See reviews for
57
90
11
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Good location, interesting building design, spacious modern bedrooms and bathrooms. Loved he attention to detail. Warm friendly staff was very helpfull, especially at breakfast. Breakfast was halaal & delicious with a wide variety of good quality options. Changes were made to the menu daily which was encouraging, especially when one stays over for a few nights. The chef made every effort to satify our special requests. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalan Africa T... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuben101, Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback, it is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. We do place a high degree of attention to fine dining and every step taken to create an unforgettable experience for our guests.

I do look forward to welcoming you again.in the near future and trust that your experience will be even better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pniel
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Awesome views. wonderful experience, fantastic comfortable rooms, spacious modern bathrooms, Breakfast- staff was warm,kind, assisted with your every need and very helpfull. THe assortment breakffastfoods takes you on a trip of its own. My fellow muslim attendees were thoroughly enjoying an all Halaal buffet. They had a ball. God bless and all accolades to your staff. A must return for us with next years INDABA

Room Tip: Ask the evening room delivery of biscuits or turn down to be before 19h00 if you sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LumleysPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel should make it clear that it is a muslim hotel, aimed at muslim customers. Food is halaal with no 'western' options - for example heavily spiced lamb and chicken sausages for breakfast, not a strip of bacon nor a pork sausage in sight. Chilli and onion omlettes. Breakfast was included in our package, but after the first day we did not eat in the hotel again.

The room was lovely, spacious with a great view. The bathroom was outstanding. Our room was clean but the hotel in general was dirty - guests dropping ice-cream in the lifts, food in the halls, trailing in dirt from their shoes etc.

However, there was a very noisy geyser (or something) that would suddenly clatter and whine through the night. One night we also had to phone reception about repeated hammering at 22.30. The hammering stopped, but we never even received a courtesy call or any kind of explanation.

The hotel is hideous from the outside, not really sure how town planning approved it?

Service was slow, but not too awful.

To sum up, I won't be rebooking this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tusabrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuben101, Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Tusabrat

We thank you and value your constructive feedback. Allow us to correct your below statement. Coastlands Umhlanga is a divers hotel catering for all cultures. It is correct that we do not serve pork products in the hotel and we do not use any alcohol in our food preparation. The omelettes are made with a choice of fillings selected by the guest.

It is pleasing to note your positive comments about our rooms and thank you for that.

Kind regards

The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I attended a conference at this hotel.

My room was amazing. Very mod. (I even took photo's of the bathroom, the shower, etc. to assist in my own home renovations).
The buffet lunch was vast but not too fussy. I ate more than I should've considering we were sitting in meetings for 3 days.
The hotel is very close to Gateway and the beach is a very short drive away. I prefer the Golden Mile and that too was easily accessible.

I would definitely stay there again, and I'm considering it as a venue to celebrate a certain 'big day'.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdHiLa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at Coastlands Umhlanga for a week. It's a new hotel, well designed. The rooms are very good. The bar and restaurant area is spacious and well laid out. It was designed to give you a great sea view but that's already partially blocked by Holiday Inn Express and there's more construction going on in front. The hotel service is a tad slow and the pool deck though big the actual pool is very small for a hotel this size. Recently, KFC outlet has opened in the same compound. But even otherwise, the hotel is located quite close to the Umhlanga Rocks Food Area and even closer to the Gateway Mall. I would l love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundeep1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Property: Coastlands Umhlanga
Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel overlooks the Indian Ocean, with all rooms featuring partial sea and city views. With optimum space and a modern look and feel, this hotel is ideal for corporate and leisure getaways. The hotel features superb banqueting and conferencing facilities ideal for weddings or corporate functions. With evenings catered for by the highly acclaimed Saffron Restaurant and the Vanilla bar guests are assured to leave with a brilliant taste of luxury. Mornings are best spent in the gymnasium and alongside the deck pool offers the opportunity to enjoy the mid day sun. Above all the Hotel offers excellence in service and always goes the extra mile to offer guests an experience they will find difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing