We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Umhlanga
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“EXCELENT”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Always a pleasure visiting your hotel, keep up the good work, TGOSO SUN you rock.Service - Excellent;Cleanliness-Excellent;Value - Excellent; Location -Excellent; Sleep Quality -Excellent; Rooms-Excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    211
    54
    16
    16
See reviews for
247
112
12
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

family room was nice.. but not very spacious. Stunning location. Lovely pool for toddlers, with play sand. Breakfast suited us fine. the waitress not very friendly. easy access to surrounding shopping center.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kavitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel to stay as i have stayed here before, however being a frequent guest member and pre paying for my stay online for my granny ended up a as a disaster. I made the booking for my granny as a gift but on her arrival they insisted that my credit to be present at check inn this was not possible as I did not stay with her as booked elsewhere. The reason for this as per the manager was to prevent credit card fraud. I found this ridiculous as I paid via verify an online secure payment service. To top it off the rate I got required prepayment 3 months ago. They even give u guest details options online.I had to drive quite a distance to the hotel what an inconvenience. For a world class hotel group tsogo sun needs to keep up with texhnology!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Silvanm796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had an awesome family holiday at Umhlanga Garden Court. Lovely hotel, fantastic staff and management...a special word of thanks to Meryl and Ahmed who made our stay fabulous! Pool is on the small side especially whne the hotel is fully booked with families on holiday...close proximity to the bea

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Pros: One of the newer hotels in Umhlange Ridge with a modern decor, good location (not right on the beach but it's only 2 mins drive from it), free (and very good) breakfast, free internet, free parking, free shuttle service to the nearby shopping mall, outdoor swimming pool, gym

Cons: We got a tiny room but our friends (who were traveling with us) got a very spacious room. When the facial tissues box was empty, the cleaning staff replaced it with only 2 SHEETS of tissues (why bother...?). The cleanliness of the room was OK, but you can tell the grout between the tiles looks like they could use a good scrub. Our hotel bill showed a "car service" charge that did not belong to us - after questioning us several times, the front desk agreed to remove it from our bill - great, but how did it happen in the first place? If the hotel had verified the person BEFORE putting the charge on the room bill, this would not have happened.

Overall, fairly decent hotel in Umhlanga. I would stay here again if I didn't need/want to be right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel since it opened. it has always been an extremely well run hotel with efficient and very friendly staff, excellent cuisine and very clean and comfortable accommodation. We were very pleased to note that under a new manager, the hotel has maintained it's very high standard! It's always a pleasure to stay there. Thanks to all staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TradewindExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandDiener, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Good Day
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback, and it is rewarding to know our return guests are satisfied that the standards are as good as ever.

Kind Regards
Roland Diener
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and neat. The staff are excellent in providing a prompt service.
Rooms are very compact and space is limited. There are some key things missing like a fridge in the room. No roiboos tea or hot chocolate in the rooms. Breakfast was excellent. Wifi is great and free for the first 350MB.
Overal not bad but not for families due to the rooms sizes.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis-seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Property: Garden Court Umhlanga
Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing