We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Umhlanga
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Garden court for three nights over the December/ January holidays. Our group consisted of five families with a total of 19. Initially we were only planning on spending two nights there and due to a booking mix up at Tamarin beach house and we were pleased when the Garden court was able to accommodate us at short notice. The rooms are modern and well equipped. The heated pool was a win with our kids and they even had a magician to entertain them. The food was good and the service was great. The hotel staff even helped us when we requested an early check in because we were exhausted after our boat cruise. The close proximity to Gateway shopping center is also brilliant. I can recommend this hotel and I plan to be back soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time a write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. It was pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    205
    53
    16
    15
See reviews for
244
108
12
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel General
- Very clean and well maintained.
- Staff is accommodating and friendly.
- Rooms are tidy and well designed.
- Bar area is inviting and allows for a family getaway from the room.
- Breakfast is almost flawless. Loses marks with quality of coffee machines.

The pool was disappointing, as it was milky, dirty, and questionable substances floating in the water on the day of our departure. The pool was very busy, but this is no excuse. This matter was addressed with management and they have responded. I sincerely hope they have sorted this issue.

All things considered this is an extremely clean and professional hotel. It is reminiscent of the old South Africa in the sense where everything works, and works well and is maintained as required. Another factor they could improve is activities for kids.

Garden Court Umhlanga Rocks scores 8.5/10, loosing points for the dirty pool and lack of kids activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creasybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comment regarding the swimming pool has been noted and will be looked into by our maintenance manager. Our sincere apologies that it did not meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent breakfast, good location, soundproof rooms.
We got a double room with a modern bathroom with shower and bath.
It is really all round an excellent 3 star hotel. The hotel even provided undercover parking in the building at no additional cost. The hotel is ideal for business travellers and families, but remember the beach is a 5 minute taxi ride away (about R50.00). The bar and pool area is very nice to relax by. It is just across the road from a large shopping centre where you will find many restaurants, shops, fastfood places, coffee shops and cinemas.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: You can try and ask for a room higher than the first floor on the ocean side, where you will have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had such a lovely stay at the Garden Court Umhlanga. Hotel is modern and comfortable. Service was great especially Pearl at Reception and the Portuguese lady in the restaurant (I cannot recall her name now). Breakfast was delicious and so worth to get up for, other food was just as nice. Although the hotel was busy it never felt crowded. Rooms were cleaned daily and really comfortable. Bathrooms were also a pleasure. The warm pool and babies pool (bonus!!) was a hit with our toddler as well as the sand pit. The only thing that was missing was a cartoon channel on the TV or something for the little kids/toddlers to watch. If there is space perhaps a jungle gym but we never missed that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martie1S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We are delighted that Pearl and Irina took such good care of you during your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

One again, we were highly impressed with this hotel. Rooms are modern and clean, everything in the hotel works, staff are particularly pleasant and efficient, and the breakfasts are great. Hotel is clearly well managed, and the hotel operates unobtrusively and well. Perhaps the only drawback is the small heated pool (and small pool area), which get quite crowded especially when the beach weather is bad. This hotel certainly offers good service and good value for money for a family that is prepared to travel to the beaches. Looking forwqard to another return visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TradewindExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed in many Garden Court across South Africa and this hotel is the best one: walking distance from Gateway mall, good service level for good price. You can walk to the beach but I would suggest to drive as the way back can be tough.

Room Tip: Ask of a sea front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoMarques_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Don't stay at Garden Court Umhlanga if you don't want to be spoiled rotten!
Its just too much to ask for-heated pool, gym, friendly speedy service, banquet breakfasts, fab parking! Kim Kardashian never had it this good!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulvmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Property: Garden Court Umhlanga
Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing