We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Garden Court ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court Umhlanga
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Garden Court ever”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed in many Garden Court across South Africa and this hotel is the best one: walking distance from Gateway mall, good service level for good price. You can walk to the beach but I would suggest to drive as the way back can be tough.

Room Tip: Ask of a sea front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoMarques_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    218
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
257
113
12
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Don't stay at Garden Court Umhlanga if you don't want to be spoiled rotten!
Its just too much to ask for-heated pool, gym, friendly speedy service, banquet breakfasts, fab parking! Kim Kardashian never had it this good!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulvmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Garden Court Umhlanga - in the heart of a hub. People rushing in and out, families relaxing enjoying quality time.

My first impression upon arrival - friendly faces, smiles and greetings.
Checking in was a breeze.
Room was amazing, good value for money. Spacious room and bathroom.
Room service was on the ball - my order arrived with a smile though it was approaching 10pm - hot, fresh and well before the expected time.
Wifi coverage was fantastic - I had no problem for the first time ever - no walking around the room to find the strongest signal none of that.
Breakfast every morning made me feel like i was walking on sunshine as soon as i approached the dining area.

Over all the service was impeccable and both my family and I will be sure to return.

Absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

GARDEN COURT UMHLANGA

The hotel is situated in a very Porsche and upmarket area of Durban In KZN. It is a short 20 min drive forms the airport. The if I’m correct is brand new and has only been operational for a few months.

Check was a breeze and the staff where friendly. One of the perks of staying in this hotel is that the parking is free and that is real great as other hotels you pay R40 rand a night.

The rooms are just about the right size, not too much and not to little. The Wi-Fi Reach/distance is terrible as I could not get onto it (Room121). Shower was great. Tv channels are adequate.

Overall the Hotel is greatly located and filled up with stuff to do.

There is just one thing I think Garden Court and the group should do is and that is make Wi-Fi free or atleast give a capped amount for free like holiday inn express.

I would rather go down the road to Holiday inn Express.

Room Tip: Take a Room closer to the lifts then far down the corridors. The length of the corridors are long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McMuffin810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warm regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is by far the best Garden Court I have been too. Friendly Staff and welcoming. Complimentary Parking. Lovely Rooms. Carpets don't stink like others. Slightly bigger toilet and shower facilities. Is it me or the breakfast on the go has more breakfast!! Its a simple hotel providing the best welcome and environment a traveller needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeszMadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you bcak in the not too distant future. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A neat clean hotel with friendly staff. We arrived early and the lady at reception was very pleasant and found us a room so we could unpack. Lovely breakfast included in the price.Enjoyed our weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Warm regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Many plus points; friendly staff, very new and clean, good rooms (and aircon), great location, quiet, good food (albeit typical large hotel "buffet style"), free car parking (although not entirely sure it should have been(?!).

It's nothing particularly special, but overall represents good value for money and based on my experience, is well ahead of some of the competition in the Gateway area of Umhlanga.

Disappointed that the WiFi wasn't free - not even in the lobby. The hotel says it's available for a "nominal" fee but this is obviously some new use of the word "nominal" that I was previously unaware of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Warm regards from the Garden Court Umhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Property: Garden Court Umhlanga
Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing